Niños Envueltos

I was home alone again with the boys having gone off to watch the Aviva Premiership Final at Twickenham after I had won two tickets.  Unfortunately the team I support didn’t make it through to the final, so I decided that instead of going along, I’d let my son go with my husband as it would be good for him to have a break from all the revision he has been doing for his GCSE exams.  My daughter was at work!

These look very similar to Chelsea Buns, but obviously don’t have the fruit filling.  The buns originate from Mexico and Jane’s foreword about the buns is as follows:-

Niños Envueltos literally means “wrapped up babies” and for that I love these buns.  You see them all over Latin America and the Caribbean with both savoury (cheese, beans, pulled chicken or pork) and sweet fillings.  The term can also be used to describe a stuffed and rolled roast or a fancy swirly sandwich.  This is a fun bun – perfect for children’s parties and lunchboxes.

Ingredients

Dough

  • 300g plain white flour
  • 50g sugar
  • 1½ tsp instant yeast/1 tsp dry yeast or 6g fresh yeast
  • 200g milk (heated to just below boiling point and left to cool to room temperature)
  • 1½ tsp salt
  • 50g butter

Filling

Jam of your choice

Glaze

  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp. water
  • Pinch of salt
  • Pinch of sugar

Makes 16 buns

Oven – 220°C (425°F) Gas 7

Method

 

I did intend on going to the allotment to finish off the weeding, so thought I’d make the bread early, walk the dog and then spend the afternoon over the allotment.

So, after preparing the milk first thing before the dog was walked I returned to begin on the dough.  Into a large bowl went the flour.  The sugar and yeast were sprinkled into the well that I had made in the flour and the cooled milk was poured over.  I do like flicking the flour over the milk to cover it – I’m easily pleased by simple things like this!!  The bowl was covered with a tea towel and put to one side for an hour.

This time I set the timer for an hour, as I do have a habit of going off to do something else and forgetting about the fact I’ve started making bread and I really did need to get over to the allotment.  So after an hour the timer went off and it was time for the next stage!

The salt was added and the ingredients all mixed together to form a ball.  Once turned out, it was kneaded for 10 minutes and I must admit I was pleased to see that although this was quite sticky it wasn’t as sticky as some of the other dough I’ve worked with recently.  After 10 minutes I cut the butter up into little cubes and added them to the dough.  This obviously made it sticky again for a while but it soon became smooth.  The dough was popped back into the bowl, covered with a shower cap and left to one side to rest for a couple of hours.

After 2 hours (yes I set the timer again – I was determined to get to the allotment today) the dough was turned out onto a floured surface.

It was time to shape the dough – so out with the rolling pin for this one.  The dough was lovely to roll out, not at all sticky.  Once it had been rolled out to a rectangle of approximately 20 x 15 cm the last of my homemade Gooseberry & Redcurrant Jam was spread quite liberally all over it.  It was then a case of rolling it up tightly from one of the long edges.  As you go, stretch the dough towards you so that you end up with a tight sausage.  The ‘sausage’ was then sliced into 1cm thick slices.  Each slice was placed onto the baking tray (which I had covered with baking parchment), leaving a little space between each one, so that they don’t stick together as they rise.  They were covered with a dry tea towel and allowed to rest for 45 minutes.

photo 2

The oven was preheated with 10 minutes to go and the glaze was beaten together and brushed over the buns.  It was then a case of popping them into the oven for 15-20 minutes.  Jane suggests looking at the buns after 10 minutes and if they are browning too quickly to cover them with foil or baking parchment.  Luckily mine didn’t need this.  Once ready, remove from the oven and allow to cool on a wire rack before eating.

You can make these using pulled pork or chicken or even cheese or beans, I think you could probably fill them with whatever you have available and they’d still taste good.

These reminded me very much of the Vigilante Buns I made a few weeks ago now.  Don’t get me wrong they did taste very good and they didn’t last long once the family were home, but I think the next bun I make is going to have to be rather special if it’s going to win me over.  The Mexican Coffee Buns are still my outright favourite so far …  Anyway, it was time for me to go off to the allotment …

photo 1

2 thoughts on “Niños Envueltos

Leave a comment