Z is for Zingy Blueberry Brownies

I’m sure most of you are aware of the #TwitterBakeAlong challenge, but if not it’s a weekly challenge set by two people, @Rob_C_Allen and @thebakingnanna1 via Twitter or Instagram. They set a competition every week of a bake to make. All you need to do is upload your photo onto Twitter or Instagram to enter. Easy.

I have entered quite a few times, but mostly I’m late – I think this became a recurring theme during last year’s Bake Off. The bakes had to be in by 12 noon on the Monday – mine was always a day late due to other commitments.

This year, I have made it my resolution to try and enter more often and on time. I admit I did miss the first week as it was savoury muffins and I didn’t think it was something that my family would eat, so I didn’t take part.

However, last week was Brownies using fruit or vegetables. I knew I had a bag of blueberries in the freezer, which I had put in there just before Christmas as I didn’t think they would be eaten and I hate throwing food away. It actually worked out better with the blueberries being frozen as they remained whole during the baking of the brownie and they gave a little ‘zing’ to the brownie as you had a burst of juice as you bit into them.

The recipe is as follows:-

Ingredients

  • 170g butter
  • 65g cocoa
  • 2 tbsp coffee (a tsp of coffee mixed with 2tbsp boiling water)
  • 340g golden caster sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 170g plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 150g frozen blueberries

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 170C and line a square 23cm tin with greaseproof paper.
  • Melt the butter in a large bowl and add the cocoa and coffee mixture. Mix together.

img_3157

  • Add the sugar, eggs and vanilla to the bowl and mix together.

img_3159

  • Stir in the flour, baking powder and salt.
  • Finally, stir through the blueberries. The mixture will stiffen considerably as the frozen blueberries will ‘set’ it.img_3163
  • Spoon into the baking tin and level out.
  • Place in the oven for approximately 30-35 minutes. Test with a skewer in the middle to see if it comes out nearly clean. You don’t want it too cook right through completely.
  • Remove from the oven and allow to cool in the tin before removing and slicing into either 16 squares or 32 smaller triangles.

 

Leave a comment