Muesli Stangen

I’ve been so busy with work etc recently and then two weeks away in sunny Cornwall that I had completely forgotten to blog this recipe.  Now I’m back from holiday, fully relaxed, before I get stuck into work again, I though it’s time to catch up on the blog.  I’ve been gone far too long!

This recipe originates from Germany and the foreword in the book reads:-

“Stamgen translates as ‘rods’.  Not a gorgeous name but definitely a gorgeous bun.  Juicy and tasty, someone once told me these were the best buns they had ever eaten”.

Jane goes on to tell you to throw away those ghastly cereal bars that are full of highly refined ingredients and instead enjoy these – breakfast on the run.

I had bought some muesli before for these, but my son found it and quite quickly ate it all, so these had to wait for another week until I went shopping for some more muesli.

Ingredients

Soaked Muesli

  • 150g muesli or your choice
  • 150g cold water

Dough

  • 300g wholemeal/wholewheat or spelt flour (or a mixture)
  • 50g dark or light rye flour
  • ¾ tsp instant yeast, 1tsp dry yeast or 6g fresh yeast
  • 250g water
  • 1½ tsp salt
  • 2-3 tbsp molasses/dark treacle/honey or maple syrup

Decoration

  • Muesli

Oven 220°C, 425°F, Gas 7

Makes 10 buns

Method

The first thing to do is to put the muesli in a bowl and leave it to soak for at least an hour.  You can leave it longer (ie all night) if you wish and this is what I did.  I thought if I soaked the muesli the night before then I would definitely have to make the buns the next day and wouldn’t get side-tracked into doing something else.

IMG_0892

When you’re ready to make the buns put all the ‘dough’ ingredients into a bowl (excluding the soaked muesli) and bring them together into a big ball.   I used maple syrup in my dough as I know my husband likes this and I thought it would add a sweeter flavour rather than  the molasses or dark treacle and I was also out of honey!   Turn the dough out onto a board and knead for at least 10 minutes.  I think this must have been the stickiest dough I have worked with so far, it just seemed to stick and stick to my hands and it’s always at this point when you get a slight tickle on the end of your nose and you know you can’t scratch it as your nose will be covered in dough too.  Even after 10 minutes the dough was still very, very sticky, I was slightly concerned that I wasn’t kneading it very well, but reading through the rest of the recipe it appears that the dough is a sticky one.  I did think about putting it into my mixer, but decided against it and carried on kneading by hand which I must admit is very therapeutic.

IMG_0893

The dough was returned to the bowl and covered and left for 20 minutes.  After this the soaked muesli was added to it and using your hands again ‘squish’ it into the dough until evenly Incorporated.  The dough was covered again and left for a good couple of hours.  Jane does say you can leave it in the fridge overnight or all day if required.

IMG_0894

Once it had rested the very sticky dough was turned out onto a floured surface.  I admit I was quite pleased to read that the surface was to be floured as I felt sure that most of the mixture would end up sticking to my hands again and not make it to the ‘bun’ stage.

I was surprised to see that at this point you were to preheat the oven as the buns do not require a second rise.

The dough was divided into 10 equal pieces and each ball was rolled into a tight ball using the method described in my previous blogs.

IMG_0895

Onto a large plate I sprinkled some muesli and rolled each ball of dough in this, whilst stretching them out at the same time into a sausage shape of about 10cm in length.  Each ‘sausage’ was then placed onto the prepared baking sheet, leaving a space between each bun.

IMG_0896

IMG_0897

The buns were flattened gently so they were no more than 1.5cm thick and then brushed liberally with water.  Into the oven they went for 20 minutes.

I must admit that I’m learning to reduce the temperature on my fan oven by 20°C as otherwise I find the bread bakes too quickly, so if you find your buns going brown too quickly, then reduce the temperature.  Sometimes my oven is fine, but most of the time it does need a little reduction in temperature.

Once they’re done pop them onto a wire rack to cool.  I really liked these buns, they were definitely something I would have for breakfast and I think adding the maple syrup added just enough sweetness to them.  As with all the other buns, they soon disappeared in this house!

IMG_0899

Leave a Reply

