Q is for Queen Cakes

DSC02566

I tried and tried to find something different for ‘Q’ but I failed, miserably.  These quaint little cakes were the only recipe I could come up with.  They’re really what I call ‘Fairy Cakes’ but they bring back memories of baking with my mother and grandma.  They’re so quick and easy to make and you can really add whatever filling you’d like and any topping too if you so wish.

As at slightly different take on them, I decided to make them using one of my bundt pans that my daughter gave me for my birthday last year.  The pan I used was my Nordicware Heritage Bundtlette Pan and it produced delicate, pretty cakes which when dusted with Snow Sugar, looked amazing.

As I said, this is a very easy recipe to make and a delight to bake for anyone with small children.

Ingredients

  • 110g butter or margarine
  • 110g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 110g self-raising flour
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 1/2 teouldn’t be easier.  Put everything in a bowl (except for the currants) and mix together until well combined.  Fold the currants in gently.
  1. You can either make 12 fairy cakes with the mixture or as I did made 6 cakes (and one fairy cake).
  2. Place in a preheated oven (180C) for 15-20 minutes.
  3. Remove from oven and leave to cool on a wire rack.
  4. Decorate as you please with icing, buttercream, sprinkles etc etc.

 

DSC02569

 

Leave a comment