N is for Naan Bread

It’s me, I’m back.  I have so, so many recipes etc to write-up.  I’ve been slacking on the writing, but busy in the kitchen.  I’m sorry …

I couldn’t even remember when I made the Naan Bread, but looking at the photos, I see that it was back in December.  That’s terrible, it was slightly more than three months ago when I baked these.  What have I been doing?!

Anyway, back to the Naan.  As I’m sure you know traditional Naan Bread is baked in specially made brick ovens, which I don’t have, although I do have plans for Mr SRF to build me one in the garden one day.  I have the plans all in my head as to exactly where it will go and what it will look like!!  So, with  no brick oven, I found a recipe from Paul Hollywood where he lightly fries the Naan on a griddle, so seeing we were having curry for tea that evening, I thought some home-made Naan would go down well.

Ingredients

  • 500g Strong White Flour
  • 10g Sea Salt
  • 5g Instant Yeast
  • 30ml Olive Oil
  • 220ml – 250ml water
  • 1 tsp Cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp Caraway seeds

Method

  1. Put the flour into a bowl and add the salt and yeast (keeping them separate – put one on one side of the flour and the other, the other side).  Add the olive oil and enough of the water to bring the dough together (it’s better to have a slightly wet dough than too dry a dough).  Bring the dough together and turn out onto a board and knead for 10 minutes until the dough is smooth, elastic and shiny.  Don’t add any more flour to the dough if it appears too wet, it will come together the more you knead it.
  2. Place the dough into a lightly oiled bowl and cover with clingfilm (or as I do, a shower hat!).  Leave for an hour until the dough has doubled in size.
  3. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured board and  add the cumin and caraway seeds.  Lightly knead until all the seeds are incorporated into the dough.
  4. Divide the dough into eight pieces.  Using a rolling-pin, roll the dough out into rounds, approximately 20cm or more.  Leave the dough to rest for five minutes.
  5. Add a splash of olive oil to a griddle or frying pan and heat for 5 minutes on a medium heat.  Shallow fry each Naan individually for 3-4 minutes each side, or until lightly browned on each side.  Remove from the pan and allow to cool slightly before serving.IMG_3705IMG_3706

I did have my doubts about my Naan, but I’m pleased to say I was pleasantly surprised at how good they tasted and they went extremely well with the curry I had made for tea too.  They were actually quite easy to make, and even though they are relatively cheap in the shops to buy, I think I will make them again, as at least you know what’s gone into them when they’re homemade and you can always vary what you put into each one, as you could easily divide the dough and then combine different flavours in individual Naan.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment