Recipe 204 – Walnut Teabread

Whoops, I got this recipe muddled up with another recipe ‘Honey Glazed Walnut Bread’ and told my daughter that apparently this bread makes the loveliest toast.  Luckily she put it under the grill to ‘toast’ it and not in the toaster as I think it may have fallen apart!  Apparently, it didn’t taste as good toasted as it did untoasted – now I know why!!

I had decided to pick one of the recipes from the two sections from which I have 3 recipes still to bake from, but after looking through them, they all seemed to require quite a lot of my time and also I had one or two ingredients missing, so as I needed to bake and had all the ingredients required for this recipe, this was the one I decided to make.

The oven was put on to preheat at Fan 160°C and a 900g (2lb) loaf tin was lightly greased and the base lined with parchment.

The first part of this recipe is to heat gently in a saucepan 100g granulated sugar (I’m glad I read the list of ingredients a few times, otherwise I think I may have put caster sugar in by mistake!), 175g golden syrup, 200ml milk and 50g sultanas.  Once the sugar had dissolved the mixture was put to one side to cool.

Whilst the syrup mixture was cooling, I took down a mixing bowl from the shelf and into this weighed out 225g self-raising flour and 1 level teaspoon of baking powder.  Into this I mixed 50g roughly chopped walnuts.  I didn’t actually have to chop mine as I think they had been crushed at the bottom of my shopping bag earlier this week.  The cooled syrup mixture was then added to the dry ingredients, together with one large egg (beaten).  This was all mixed together with a large wooden spoon and them poured into the prepared tin.

Into the oven it went for just under an hour.  By this time it should be firm to the touch and you can check with a skewer inserted into the centre of the cake – it should come out clean.  If the cake is browning too quickly, Mary suggests covering it with tin foil, but luckily mine didn’t appear to be browning that quickly.  The teabread was left to cool in the tin for 10 minutes and then removed from the tin, the parchment removed and left to cool on a wire rack.

It wasn’t long before my daughter decided to have a slice, whilst it was still warm, covered in butter.  She thought it tasted good.  It went down a treat, but please don’t toast it, it isn’t meant for that!!

Walnut Teabread

Leave a comment