Recipe 179 – Singin’ Hinney

For some strange reason I decided that this recipe could work for breakfast, so I decided to give it a go.

Instead of having to pre-heat the oven, the first thing to do was to prepare the griddle pan or heavy based frying pan.  This was gently heated and the base lightly greased with a small amount of white vegetable fat.

Into my mixing bowl I weighed out 350g plain flour and added to this 1/2 level tsp bicarbonate of soda and 1 level tsp cream of tartar.  These three ingredients were mixed together and then 75g of white vegetable fat (or lard) was added and rubbed in with my fingertips until the mixture resembled breadcrumbs.  The next ingredient to be added was 100g currants which were stirred through.  The final ingredient was approximately 200ml milk, this was mixed in until the mixture came together to form a soft but not sticky dough.

The dough was turned out onto a lightly floured board and kneaded very lightly.  Using a rolling-pin the dough was rolled out to a large round of approximately 5mm thick.  I rolled mine out to the same size of the base of the griddle.  All this had been done in less than 5 minutes!

By now the pan was nice and hot so the dough was lifted and placed into the pan.  I turned the heat down and let the scone cook gently for 5 minutes, after this time it was gently turned over and cooked on the other side for a further 5 minutes.  Both sides were a lovely golden brown.  I was a bit unsure as to whether or not it had cooked right through, but it looked ok from the outside, so fingers crossed it would be baked!

I slid the Singin’ Hinney out of the pan onto a wire rack to allow it to cool slightly.  Mary suggest splitting it in half and buttering it before putting it back together to serve.  I had a different idea, I’m not a great fan of butter on bread, toast etc, so I decided to cut a wedge and eat it together with a good spoonful of homemade rhubarb and vanilla jam.  It was absolutely delicious.  For my husband, I split another piece in half and drizzled it with maple syrup (his favourite), he too thought it was good.

Did it work as something different for breakfast, I certainly think it did and it was very quick and easy to make, almost as quick as making pancakes for breakfast in the morning!

Singin' Hinney

 

2 thoughts on “Recipe 179 – Singin’ Hinney

    • In a way, but without the sugar or mixed spice. I was surprised that there wasn’t any sugar added, I checked the recipe twice to make sure I hadn’t missed it, but no it wasn’t there. Perhaps I’ll make another one with sugar to compare them.

      Like

Leave a comment