Recipe 199 – Hot Lemon Souffle Pudding

With the weather beginning to get chilly in the evening, this was a last-minute decision that we needed something hot for pudding today.  I must admit during the summer months I rarely make a pudding, we usually have a bowl of home-made ice-cream or some fruit – something simple, but today I decided we needed something warm!

Looking through the book I came across this recipe in the section entitled ‘Souffles and Meringues’.  I did have second thoughts when I read the word souffle, but reading through the recipe it didn’t appear to be your usual souffle – in fact Mary states in the description of the pudding that she has reheated it and it was still very tasty.  Fingers crossed, I hope she’s right.

The oven was put on to preheat at fan 170°C and a shallow 1.5 litre ovenproof dish was greased.  I must admit I took quite a few dishes out and filled them up with 1.5 litres of water to make sure I had the right size.

Into a large bowl I measured out 75g softened butter and beat this together with 250g caster sugar.  Mary says to beat it until smooth, there was rather a lot of sugar to butter ratio so there was no way it was going to be creamy and fluffy!  Once smooth, 3 large egg yolks were added and beaten in (the egg whites were put to one side).    To this I then added 75g self-raising flour, the grated rind and juice of two lemons and 450ml milk.  Again the mixture was beaten together.  Mary does state at this stage that the mixture may look curdled – apparently this is quite normal.  Phew, I was pleased to read that!

Finally the 3 egg whites were whisked together until they formed soft peaks and then carefully folded into the lemon mixture using a metal spoon.

The mixture was poured into the prepared ovenproof dish and placed into a roasting tin.  The kettle had been filled up and put on to boil before I added the egg whites, so the water was poured into he roasting dish so that it came half way up the dish.  I found it easier to put the roasting tray into the oven and then fill the tray up with water – I had visions of it all going everywhere if I did this before it went into the oven!

Mary says to bake it in the oven for an hour or until the top was golden brown.  After approximately 30 minutes you could smell the pudding.  The smell was becoming stronger so I decided to take a quick look to see how the pudding was going.  I was surprised to see that it was already a golden brown in colour, in fact it was a deep golden brown (if that makes sense!).  I was in two minds, do I take it out of the oven or do I leave it in for another 20 minutes.  I decided with the former and took the pudding out as I felt it was well and truly cooked.  I’m not sure why my pudding took 20 minutes less time to cook, it may be that my dish was too shallow and perhaps I should have put it in a deeper dish.  All I can say is if you decide to bake this recipe, keep a close eye on the oven after 30 minutes!

This pudding is nothing at all to look at and when it’s spononed into a dish to serve, it looks even worse, but we were all pleasantly surprised by the taste.  It was lovely, very lemony and the pudding ends up with a spongy mousse on the top with a sharp lemony sauce underneath.  It was quick and easy to make and I think in all honesty I wouldn’t have called it a souffle!

Hot Lemon Mousse Pudding

2 thoughts on “Recipe 199 – Hot Lemon Souffle Pudding

  1. What a great looking pudding – I never think of pudding in this format – but it does look really good. Do you only eat it warm? Or can you chill it?

Leave a Reply

