Recipe 187 – Mississippi Mud Pie

A chocolate recipe – not many of them left now, but I felt like baking another dessert and didn’t fancy another meringue or cheesecake, although there are still quite a few of those left to bake!

Looking through the recipe it didn’t look too time consuming, I think the baking part actually takes the longest!

The oven was put on to preheat at Fan 160°C and a deep 20cm  (8″)  loose bottomed tin was lightly greased.  I actually lined the base of the tin too, so that I could easily slide the pie off.

The first thing was to made the crumb base.  100g of digestive biscuits were crushed (100g isn’t very many and I was tempted to do a few more as I always think Mary’s a bit tight on her biscuit bases).  To this I added 50g of melted butter and 25g demerara sugar.  This was all mixed together and pressed into the base of the tin.  Mary says to use a metal spoon to press the mixture down, I’m not quite sure why, but I did as I was told and used the spoon, the base did as I feared seem to be very thin and the mixture kept sticking to the spoon.  In the end I resorted to using my fingers to press the base down.  This was put to one side whilst I carried on with the filling.

In a saucepan I broke up 200g plain chocolate and added to this 100g butter, 1tbsp camp coffee (Mary says to use coffee granules, but as I don’t drink coffee and my husband has one of these all singing all dancing coffee machines which uses ‘pods’ I had to use my bottle of Camp Coffee) and 1tbsp boiling water.  This was heated together very gently until the butter and chocolate had melted, stirring occasionally.

The pan was removed from the heat and to the chocolate mixture I added 300ml single cream, 175g dark muscovado sugar and 6 large eggs.  The mixture was beaten together until smooth and it was then poured into the tin.  I must admit I was very worried at this stage, the mixture was very runny indeed and I had visions of it all seeping out the bottom of the tin as I put it into the oven.  As a precaution I decided to put it onto a baking tray to catch any drips should it leak.  I didn’t fancy having to clean this off the bottom of my oven.

The pie had to bake for 1 and a quarter hours.  I must admit that after 15 minutes I did have to have a peek to see whether or not it had leaked and I was pleased to see that it hadn’t.  I must have pushed the biscuit base down firmly or perhaps it was the fact that I lined the bottom of the tin that it didn’t leak.

The smell of the pie baking was lovely, very chocolaty indeed.  After the allocated time the pie had risen up considerably and was beginning to crack on the top, so it was removed from the oven and left to cool completely in the tin.  I was surprised to see that as it cooled, it also began to sink in the tin, although it was level!

Once cooled, it was removed from the tin and placed onto a serving plate.  The top was covered in 150ml of whipped double cream.  I did think about piping it onto the top, but decided against it and just spread it over the top and decorated it with a few ‘sprinkles’ as to be quite honest it didn’t look that appetising!

It was time to see what it tasted like.  I was surprised when I cut into it that it wasn’t at all ‘cake like’.  The outside of the pie was very similar to a cake, but the inside was more like a mousse or a chocolate torte.  You could definitely taste the coffee in it, I’m not sure whether that was because I had used the Camp coffee rather than granules.  I wasn’t that impressed by it and nor was my daughter – she gave it 6 out of 10, so she obviously didn’t think that much of it.  My husband liked it, and my son loved it.  I think he actually ate most of it – he actually had some for his breakfast the next morning.  My husband finished the pie off the next day and he said it tasted better than the day before, so perhaps it improves with time!

I don’t think it will be something I’ll be baking again in a hurry, it wasn’t really my cup of tea!

Mississippi Mud Pie1

Leave a Reply

