Recipe 176 – Lemon Cream Tartlets

Reading through this recipe I thought ‘Lemon Cream Tartlets’ was a rather a strange name for these little tarts, I prefer to call them Strawberry Shortcakes  which I think sounds a little more appealing too, but who am I to question Mary!!??

The first part to this recipe was to make the shortbread bases.  100g of softened butter was put into a bowl, together with 50g caster sugar, 50g semolina and 100g plain flour.  These were worked together until the formed a smooth dough.  The dough was wrapped in clingfilm and chilled in the fridge for 15 minutes.

Whilst the shortbread was chilling, the oven was put on to preheat at  Fan 130°C.

The dough was removed from the fridge and rolled out on a lightly floured surface to a thickness of just under 5mm.  Using a 7.5cm (3″) fluted cutter, circles were cut out and pressed gently into a 12 hole bun tin.  You should make about 10 cases with this dough.  The bottoms of the bases were pricked well with a fork.

The shortbread needs to bake in the oven for approximately 20-25 minutes.  I had a peek at mine after 15 minutes and the bases although pricked had risen slightly so I gently pushed them down.  Another way of making these would be to turn the bun tin upside down and lay the shortbread over the ‘dome’.  After 25 minutes the bases were a golden brown, so they were removed from the oven and left to cool in the tin for a little while.  Once they’d hardened slightly they were removed from the tin.  You have to be careful removing these from the tin – I found the best way was to twist them in a circle and then they’d pop out easily.  They were left to cool completely on a wire rack.

To make the filling I whipped 150ml double cream until is was slightly stiff and to this I added 1.5 tbsp lemon curd.  Mary states to add 3 tbsp, but I divided my cream into two, so I had some plain and some lemony.

Just before serving (as the cases go soft quite quickly once they are filled) a small amount of the cream was spooned into each shortbread case.  To finish it off I sliced  a strawberry and put this on the top.  Mary does say you can fill the cases with almost anything, whatever is in season.

The shortbread was lovely and crumbly and had a lovely butter flavour.  The lemon cream I wasn’t too sure about, I think I preferred the plain cream and strawberry on top.  They didn’t last long with the whole family, so they were obviously good and I think I’ll be making these again as they were quite easy and looked good.

Lemon Cream Tartlets

One thought on “Recipe 176 – Lemon Cream Tartlets

Leave a Reply

