Recipe 175 – Devil’s Food Cake

A chocolate cake had been requested for quite some time in the house.  I had intended on keeping 3 recipes from each section in the book and working through 1 recipe from each section at a time until I had finished, but I too fancied a chocolate cake.  This one looked very rich  and it needed an egg white which I had left over from the last recipe (Pecan Pie).

First thing was to put the oven on to preheat at Fan 160°C and to then grease two 20cm (8″) sandwich tins.  The base of the tins was lined with parchment.

Into a small bowl I weighed out 50g cocoa powder and added 225ml water.  I did use slightly warm water from the kettle which helped the cocoa to dissolve. This was thoroughly blended together and put to one side.

In a larger bowl I weighed out 100g softened butter and 275g caster sugar was added to this gradually and beaten together.  Once it was pale and fluffy I gradually added 2 large eggs (which had been lightly whisked) until they were evenly blended.

In yet another bowl I sieved together 275g plain flour, 1/4 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda.  These were folded into the butter mixture alternately with the cocoa and water mixture.  once blended the mixture was divided between the tins and the surfaces levelled.

They were baked in the oven for 30-35 minutes.  I removed mine after 30 minutes as they were well risen and the tops of the cakes sprang back when lightly pressed with a finger.  They were left to cool for a few minutes and then turned out of the tins and the parchment removed from the bottom.  They finished cooling off on a wire rack.

Once cool it was time to make the frosting.  Into yet another bowl went 175g caster sugar, 1 large egg white, 2 tbsp hot water and a pinch of cream of tartar.  The bowl was set over a pan of hot water and using my electric whisk it was whisked for approximately 10-12 minutes until it was thick.

A small amount of the frosting was used to sandwich the cakes together and the remainder was used to cover the top and sides.

Mary says to work quickly as the frosting sets rapidly, so I quickly spread the frosting over the cake and used a pallete knife to make some swirls and peaks in it.  The cake has to be left in a cool place (not the fridge) to set.

Devil's Food Cake (slice)

I don’t think my son realised it was a chocolate cake as it wasn’t until the next day that he asked what it was, even though by then the rest of us had eaten some.  I liked it, the cake itself was very moist and wasn’t too sweet it was probably slightly bitter in taste.  The frosting was lovely, crisp on top and then similar to marshmallow underneath, although the top did soften after a day or so.  However, I think once he had eaten a slice of the cake, it became a favourite with his, especially when he came home from school and also for his pudding later on!  My husband didn’t like it however, which surprised me.  Well I say didn’t like it, I don’t think he hated it, but he said it wasn’t his favourite – he said he didn’t like the texture!

This is another one which I think I will make again.  The cake itself was quite easy to make, the frosting slightly more difficult, but it certainly looked very stunning – one perhaps for a party!

Devil's Food Cake

 

 

Leave a Reply

