Recipe 171 – Borrowdale Teabread

Last week was such a glorious week weather-wise that I didn’t actually do any baking, which is unheard of in this house (no that’s a lie actually, I’ve just remembered that I baked some Triple Chocolate Cookies from Jo Wheatley’s new book, but they were so good, they didn’t last very long and they were very easy to bake too!)  Instead I was in the garden, tidying it up and digging over the patch where the trampoline and chickens used to be as I really need to get this turfed or seeded very soon, so it will become part of the garden again, ready for the summer.  If I wasn’t digging in the garden I was digging over my allotment, all the potatoes, onions, shallots and parsnips are in now, the fruit bushes are looking good and there is only about a quarter left for me to dig and plant up!  The remainder of the time I was nurturing my plants in the greenhouse, getting them ready for planting out.

So on Saturday evening, although I had an invite from a friend to go on a long dog walk on Sunday morning, I declined as the family were pestering me to bake.  This actually worked out rather well as I went on a long dog walk with my friend and her husband, together with my husband in the afternoon instead, which meant we stopped off at the pub half way!!

This recipe actually began on Saturday evening as I had to soak 100g sultanas, 100g currants and 100g raisins in 475ml of strong tea.  Being organised I weighed the rest of the ingredients out the night before too, so when I got up in the morning, I could quickly make this and pop it into the oven.

I was up around 6.30am as the dog was pacing around downstairs waiting for his breakfast (typical labrador always thinking of his stomach), so I thought I may as well get on and make the teabread.  It was actually baked and out of the oven before anyone else in the house awoke!

The oven was put on to preheat at Fan 160°C and a 900g (2lb) loaf tin was lightly greased and the bottom lined with parchment.

I was pleased to see it was an all in one method and I wouldn’t require my electric whisk, so shouldn’t wake anybody else up in the house!  Into a big bowl went 225g light muscovado sugar (I didn’t quite have enough so I made the measurement up with golden caster sugar) and 2 large eggs.  These were mixed together until they were light and fluffy.  I did this with a balloon whisk and was quite surprised at just how quickly I managed to do this by hand – it must be all the kneading I’ve been doing with my home-made bread! Into this went 450g wholemeal self-raising flour, together with the soaked fruits and the excess liquid.  This was mixed thoroughly together and spooned into the loaf tin.  The surface was levelled and into the oven it went for an hour.

It was time for a cup of tea and some breakfast while I waited for it to bake and a flick through Mary’s Bible to see what recipe I’d bake next today.

After an hour the loaf was a lovely golden brown and when I inserted a skewer into the centre it came out clean.  It had to be left to cool in the tin.  Once cooled, I whizzed a knife around the edge in order to turn it out.  In my haste I managed to slice off one of the corners of the cake, but this wasn’t too bad as it meant I could have a sneaky taste.  It did taste good, but I think it is definitely one that you must have butter on.  My daughter obviously liked it she had a piece a good couple of centimetres thick, more like a piece of cake than a slice of  bread with lashings of butter spread over it!

It was a quick and easy teabread to make, but I personally felt something was missing, whether it was the fact that I didn’t put 100% muscovado sugar in I’m not sure, I felt it needed a little bit of spice in it, some cinnamon or something similar.

 

Borrowdale Teabread

Leave a Reply

