Recipe 166 – Walnut and Raisin Loaf

Time for another bread recipe.  Having watched the lovely Paul Hollywood and his new tv series, I decided to take a break from my normal loaf of bread I regularly bake and bake something else.  As I haven’t, as yet, invested in his new book, I knew I had quite a few ‘Bread’ recipes to bake from Mary’s Bible, so thought I’d give this one a go.

I made this in between making the Glazed Lemon Tart!

Into a large bowl I measured out 225g strong white flour, 225g strong wholemeal flour, 1 level tsp salt, 1 level tblsp light muscovado sugar, 1 level tsp ground cinnamon and 40g melted butter.  I mixed this all together with my hand until it formed a sticky dough.  The dough was turned out onto a board on which I had poured a small amount of olive oil.  Mary does say to put it onto a lightly floured board, but having taken Mr Hollywood’s tip, I personally think olive oil is better and it’s surprising at just how quickly once you start kneading the dough stops being sticky and becomes lovely and smooth.  The dough was kneaded for approximately 5 minutes.

It was then transferred into another bowl which I had lightly oiled and the top covered with clingfilm.  This was left to rise for approximately 1 hour – by this time it had more than doubled in size.

The dough was tipped out onto a lightly floured board and knocked back.  It was time to add 100g chopped walnuts and 100g raisins.  I made a dip in the middle of the dough and poured the two ingredients in.  It was then kneaded lightly (rather messily at first as all the walnuts and raisins kept escaping, but after a minute  or two they were evenly spread out).

Mary says to make the bread into either one large loaf or two smaller loaves.  I opted for the smaller loaves. Instead of rolling them out to a sausage shape (20cm x 5cm for the small ones or 40cm x 10cm for a large loaf) I decided to put them into two of my small loaf tins.  These were covered and again left for approximately 45 minutes until they had doubled in size.

The last thing to do was to brush them with some beaten egg and then it was time to pop them into the oven (preheated to 200°C).  They were in there for around 20 minutes, after which time they were a lovely golden brown in colour and when tapped on the bottom, they sounded hollow.

The loaves were removed from the tins and left to cool.  This loaf apparently is delicious with cheese, so once cooled, I sat down with a slice of bread and some strong cheddar.  I was pleasantly surprised.  As you know I’m not a fan of walnuts, but although there was a slight hint of walnut flavour, the main flavour that came through was that of cinnamon and it went rather well with the cheese.

I’m not sure whether I’d bake them again, as I’m more of a cheese and biscuit person, but with a huge dollop of chutney put on top as well I might be converted.

Walnut & Raisin Loaf

2 thoughts on “Recipe 166 – Walnut and Raisin Loaf

    • It’s a bit of both, but the cinnamon to me is a little overpowering. I think it probably would be nice toasted with lots of butter – heads off into the kitchen to toast some!!

Leave a Reply

