Recipe 160 – Griddle Scones

After taking the dog out for a long, cold and muddy walk, something, quick, easy and warming was needed.  Looking through the list of recipes I had written down to bake over the next few weeks, my eyes fell on this one, it looked quite quick and easy.

My big heavy frying pan was put on top of the hob and lightly greased with oil.

Into the bowl I measured 225g plain flour, 1 level teaspoon bicarbonate of soda, 2 level teaspoons cream of tartar and stirred them together.  To this I adde 25g butter and rubbed it in until it resemble breadcrumbs.  25g sugar was stirred through this and then 150ml of milk was added.  This was mixed together with a round bladed knife to form a soft but not sticky dough.

The mixture was turned out onto a lightly floured board and divide into two.  Each piece was kneaded very lightly and then rolled out into a round until it measured about 1cm.  Each round was then cut into six equal wedges.

Griddle Scone1

The wedges were then cooked in batches on the prepared hot griddle.  They took approximately 5 minutes each side.  Once they were an even brown, then were flipped over and cooked for another 5 minutes on the other side.

They were left to cool on a wire rack, although I couldn’t resist splitting one open and eating it whilst it was warm covered in strawberry jam.  Mary does state to eat them spread with butter, but as I’m not a fan of butter, I had jam!

I loved the taste of them, it was just what I needed to warm myself up!  They didn’t stay around for long.

Griddle Scone2

Leave a Reply

