Recipe 158 – Wholemeal Ginger Cake

I baked this recipe last week, but have been too busy to write-up the blog, so there will be a few more coming from me either today or over the next few days of the latest bakes.

As you probably know Ginger cake isn’t one of my favourites and I still have quite a few ‘gingerbread’ recipes to bake from The Bible, so I thought I’d get one more out-of-the-way.  Reading through this recipe I was pleased to see that I didn’t have to add any black treacle.  I can’t abide the stuff, so hopefully this gingerbread would be more to my taste than the others.

The oven was put on to pre-heat at 140°C and my traybake tin (30 x 23cm) was lightly greased and the base lined with parchment.  I was already feeling disappointed with this recipe – it was essentially a traybake, but it was under the ‘Spiced Cakes’ section in the book.

The first thing to do was to heat together 175g butter, 350g golden syrup, 120g granulated sugar (note its granulated and not caster), 1 1/2 level tablespoons orange marmalade (Mary does state not to be too generous, otherwise the cake will sink) and 200ml milk.  Once the butter had melted and the sugar had dissolved, it was removed from the heat to allow it to cool slightly.

Whilst the mixture was cooling into a bowl (sieved together) went  175g self-raising flour,  1 1/2 level teaspoons ground ginger, 1 1/2 level teaspoons of ground mixed spice and 1/2 level teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda.  To this I added 175g wholemeal self-raising flour and stirred it through.  The melted butter mixture was poured into this, together with 3 large eggs which I had beaten slightly in a separate bowl.  The mixture was stirred well until it formed a smooth batter.

The batter was poured into the tin and put into the oven to bake for about 1 1/2 hours.  Mine was actually in the oven for 1 hr 20 minutes as by now it had started to shrink back from the edges and was springy to the touch.  After a few minutes it was turned out of the tin, the parchment peeled off and left to cool on a wire rack.

Once cold it was time to make the icing.  My daughter didn’t really want any icing on the cake as it had lemon juice in it, so in the end I iced 2/3rds of the cake and left 1/3rd un-iced.  To ice the whole cake you needed to mix together 3 tablespoons lemon juice with 225g sieved icing sugar.  This was beaten together until smooth.  I was quite surprised to find it was quite a thick icing and not runny as I had expected.  The icing was spread over the top of the cake and left to set.  Mary does say to decorate the top with chopped stem ginger if you liked, but I decided not to.

Once the icing had set, rather than cut the cake into squares, I halved the cake (long side) and then as we ate it, I cut pieces off.  I was determined it wasn’t to be called a traybake!  Taste wise, it was much nicer than the other ginger cakes I have made, having no black treacle in it certainly made a difference.  I had a couple of slices of it, but I think overall my husband ate the rest, the children weren’t at all keen on it.

Wholemeal Ginger Bread 1

 

 

Wholemeal Ginger Cake2

 

 

14th March 2013

Leave a Reply

