Recipe 138 – Hot Chocolate Soufflés

13th January 2013

My second bake of the day was to be a soufflé.  I can honestly say I’ve never made one before and I must admit I was rather nervous.  Would it rise or would it fail.

Mary states on the first line that soufflés are not difficult to make – I hope this is true.

Having read through the recipe I could see that you make this in stages until you were ready to bake the soufflés, so I thought I’d do the first part and then finish them off just as I was about to serve up our evening meal, which meant they would be ready to take out of the oven for our pudding!

I did however, do step one and greased four individual soufflé dishes.

IMAG1441

The next step was to break the chocolate into pieces and put this into a saucepan, together with the water and 2tbsp of milk.  This was stirred over a low heat until the chocolate had melted.  Once it had melted the remaining milk was added and the mixture brought to the boil.  The pan was then removed from the heat.

Reading through the next section of the recipe, it appeared that I had to make a  roux.  so into another pan went the flour and butter.  The mixture had to cook for 2 minutes over a low heat and stirred continuously.  This was removed from the heat and my pan of hot chocolate milk was stirred in.  The pan was put back over the heat and the mixture stirred until it had thickened, which didn’t take very long.  Once thickened a 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract was added.  This mixture then had to cool.

I did end up putting the chocolate sauce into a mixing bowl as it seemed to be taking an absolute age to cool in the saucepan.

Once the mixture had cooled I was able to get on with the next step in the recipe.  4 large eggs were separated and the egg yolks were beaten one at a time into the cooled chocolate sauce.  Once all the eggs had been beaten into the mixture the caster sugar was sprinkled over the top.

The oven was put on to preheat at 170°C (if you are not using a fan oven then increase the temperature to 180°C or Gas Mark 5 and a baking sheet put onto the shelf

When our evening meal was nearly ready, it was time for the final stage.  The four egg whites were whipped up until they were stiff.  One tablespoon of the egg whites was stirred into the chocolate mixture and then the rest was carefully folded in.

The mixture was then poured into the soufflé dishes.  I now realised I actually needed more than 4 dishes, so another 3 dishes were quickly greased and the mixture poured in.  I couldn’t believe I was to make 7 soufflés rather than the stated 4.  My soufflé dishes were the correct size too!  A teaspoon was run around the edges of the dishes, I believe this makes them rise straight and not stick to the side.

Into the oven went the soufflés, it took quite a while to get 7 dishes onto the tray and I think this is where it started to go wrong.  I think my oven cooled down a little too much.  The soufflés were to be in the oven for 10 minutes.  After 10 minutes I had a glance at the soufflés, they didn’t appear to be doing anything, so I set the timer for another 5 minutes.  They had started rising after  this time, but still didn’t look cooked.  They remained in there for yet another 5 minutes, after which they had risen.  Whilst they were in the oven I had prepared a board to put them on so I could quickly take a photo as the have a habit of sinking very quickly once out of the warm oven.

They were quickly removed from the oven and I chose one of the soufflés to photograph.  However, my camera was not where I thought it was, so I had to quickly rush into the other room to find it.  By this time the soufflé had started to deflate!  The photo doesn’t do it justice.

Taste wise, I personally didn’t find it chocolaty enough, it may be that my taste buds are still not back to normal after the cold I’ve had as both my husband and daughter loved them and both ate two each!  My son had the same opinion as I had.

I don’t think I’ll make these again, but there are two variations to be baked – an orange soufflé and a coffee soufflé, so perhaps I’ll enjoy these more – and I’ll definitely have my camera to hand!

IMAG1448-1

I’m sending this blog onto Jen of Blue Kitchen Bakes as it’s part of her January challenge.

The recipe for the Hot Chocolate Soufflés is as below.  This is NOT my recipe and is one taken from Mary Berry’s Baking Bible.

115g plain chocolate

2 tablespoons water

300ml milk

40g butter

40g plain flour

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

4 large eggs, separated

50g caster sugar

sifted icing sugar, for dusting

whipped cream to serve (optional)

3 thoughts on “Recipe 138 – Hot Chocolate Soufflés

Leave a Reply

