Recipe 137 – Wholemeal Sultana & Apricot Rock Cakes

13th January 2013

An easy recipe to start me off today and my first on WordPress.  Hopefully this will be easy to type up!

I have made rock cakes many times with my children when they were younger, it’s the sort of recipe that doesn’t take too long to put together – just long enough to hold the children’s concentration, but I must admit I’ve never made them with wholemeal flour.

The oven was put on to preheat and two baking trays were lightly greased with the magic ‘cake release’.

Into my mixing bowl went 100g self raising flour, together with 100g wholemeal self raising flour and 2tsp baking powder.  100g of softened butter was also added and as usual I had forgotten to take the butter out of the fridge, so it had a quick blast in the microwave to soften it slightly.  The flour and butter were rubbed in together until they resembled breadcrumbs.

It was then time to weigh out the sultanas and apricots.  I had a bag of apricots left over from Christmas and to be quite honest I had forgotten all about them as had I remembered I would have eaten them up.  The apricots were snipped into small pieces and these were added to the ‘breadcrumb’ mixture together with 50g muscovado sugar.  A quick stir through with a rounded knife combined everything together.

In a separate bowl I whisked together a large egg and 2tbsp milk and added this to the dry mixture.  A quick stir brought the mixture together.  Mary does say in her recipe that if the mixture is a little dry to add a little more milk, but my mixture seemed just about right.

I then used two teaspoons to make 12 mini mounds on the baking trays – 6 on each.  Each mound was sprinkled generously with demerara sugar before being popped into the oven for 15 minutes.

15 minutes later they were ready, they were removed from the baking tray and left to cool on a wire rack.

I must admit I was pleasantly surprised by these rock cakes.  They were very moist and the sultana and apricot worked well together.  My son (who used to love rock cakes when he was little) soon discovered them and quite a few disappeared very quickly.  He thought they were very good, which was surprising really as had I told him there were apricots in them, he wouldn’t have touched them.

The recipe in itself was very easy and one that really could have gone under the ‘Baking with Children’ section of the book as it’s a quick and easy recipe to follow.  Will I bake them again – yes I think so.

Image

Leave a Reply

