Recipe 124 – Iced Lemon Traybake

24th October 2012

It was definitely a day for comfort baking with the weather outside so dull.  The next cake I chose to bake was the Iced Lemon Traybake.  Now all of you who have been reading my blog will know that my all time favourite cake is lemon drizzle cake, so any cake with lemon in it is a hit with me.

This is the second traybake in this section of the Bible and although I really ought to bake the first one which is the all-in one sponge traybake,  this one appealed to me just a ‘little’ bit more!!

Mary’s traybake recipes are all really very simple with the vast majority of them being all-in one recipes, this too being one of them.

The oven was already on and nice and warm, so all I had to do was grease my traybake tin and line the bottom with baking parchment.

Next into a large bowl went the softened butter (and I did as Mary said on her Masterclass the other evening on the television – I put the bowl of butter into a bowl of warm water and I must admit it was surprising how quickly is softened), caster sugar, self-raising flour, baking powder, 4 large eggs, 4 tbsp milk and the grated rind of two lemons.  I do love the smell of lemon!  This was then beaten together for a couple of minutes with the electric mixer until it was well blended.  

The mixture was turned into the tin, levelled with a palette knife and popped into the oven for 35 minutes.  After this time, I had a quick look and gave it 5 minutes more, at which time it had just started to shrink away from the sides of the tin.  It then had to be left to cool in the tin, which gave me time to give the dog a quick run (he still has to take it easy because of his cut paw – much to his frustration!).

Once back from the walk and I had dried off as it was very damp and miserable still outside, the cake was nice and cool, so it was on with the icing.  For this you had to mix together 225g sifted icing sugar with 3 tbsp of lemon juice.  The lemons were incredibly juicy and I managed to get 3 tbsp of juice from half a lemon!  This was mixed into the icing sugar but it wasn’t a runny consistency at all, it was a solid lump.  More lemon juice was required and I think I probably added another 3 tbsp of juice before it was nice and runny.

The cake was removed from the tin and the icing poured over the top.  I hadn’t made the icing too runny as I didn’t want it to run off the cake, so I had to give it a helping hand and spread it over the top in places.  This was then put to one side to set.

Once set, it was cut up into 24 pieces.  It smelt delicious.  It wasn’t until later in the evening that I tasted a slice, it was so, so moist and very lemony and the icing was yummy too.  I was truly amazed at the lightness and moistness of this taste – I think the lemon drizzle cake may have a rival as to what is my favourite cake now…

Sorry for the awful photograph, but there are only so many ways you can photograph a traybake!

 

Leave a Reply

