Recipe 116 – Drop Scones

13th October 2012

Saturday afternoon, rugby was on television so wouldn’t see the hubby for ages, dog had been walked, daughter tidying her room and son probably on his Xbox, so into the kitchen I ventured.  Two bakes today, I’ll write up about the other next, although it was baking in the oven as I made these, but these were finished (and eaten) first, so I thought I’d do this one first!

This was a lovely simple recipe and one I can remember my mum cooking on Sunday afternoons when my grandma and grandad came to tea – although I’m sure she called them Scotch Pancakes!  She also used to make egg and beetroot sandwiches which were delicious and which I made my husband the other day for the first time, using up some of the beetroots from the allotment – he was impressed with them and has requested them again!

Anyway, back to the Drop Scones – into a bowl went 175g  of plain flour to which I added some baking powder, a small quantity of sugar, one egg and some milk.  I didn’t add all the milk at once as the mixture was to resemble the thickness of double cream.  So it was added gradually and then beaten to a smooth batter in between additions of milk.  Eventually I was there – it’s really similar to a pancake mixture.

The heavy based frying pan was removed from the cupboard and greased with some oil.  This was heated and once nice and hot tablespoonfuls of the mixture were dropped onto it.  The first two I think were slightly undercooked and rather thick – I had assumed that they would spread themselves out, but they needed a little bit of persuasion.  I ate those quickly myself!  For all the others I dropped the mixture in then spread it out very slightly with the back of a spoon.  After a few minutes bubbles would rise to the surface of the scone, so they were quickly flipped over with a palette knife and left to cook on the other side for approximately 30 seconds.

No sooner had they been taken out of the pan and put on the cooling rack to cool than they were taken away to be eaten (mainly by my daughter who smothered hers in golden syrup).  My husband soon came into the kitchen to see what the delicious smell was, but he was told not to eat any until I had managed to take a photo of them, otherwise I feared that there would be no photographic evidence that I had baked these!

A drizzle of maple syrup and a slight sprinkling of sugar for my husband, golden syrup for my son and daughter, although she did try one with butter to which she said was very good.  Myself, I just ate them plain.  They were nice and something I think I will quickly knock up again on a cold winter afternoon, when we’re all snuggling down in front of the fire!



Leave a Reply

