Recipe 113 – Oat and Sunflower Squares

4th October 2012

It’s been a busy week again and I had intended baking yesterday but due to one of my other roles as Membership Secretary at the local rugby club, I spent the afternoon sorting membership out.

However, with work over this morning and after a very brief dog walk – all of 10 minutes, poor thing, he’s still not allowed out without wearing a plastic boot over his paw and has to be kept on a lead.  Today it was as though I was leading a very excitable racehorse on the brief walk.  He spent most of the time jumping and prancing about – roll on Monday when we visit the vet again and hopefully get the all clear so he can go and have a good run – it was into the kitchen I went.

A quick recipe this afternoon, I feel as though I’m coming down with a cold and I wanted to bake a loaf of bread  as well but don’t really feel like it – I’m feeling very proud of myself, I haven’t bought a loaf of bread now for nearly two weeks – they’ve all been home baked and very tasty too I must add.

This recipe I noticed the other day – it’s on the opposite page to the Chocolate Chip and Vanilla Marble Cake and it only has four ingredients, so very, very easy.


The first thing, as usual  was to turn the oven on to preheat, although the preparation of this recipe didn’t take long, so I wasn’t entirely convinced the oven would be up to temperature.

Into a bowl went the measured oats (Mary does state ‘Jumbo’ but I didn’t have these, so just used ordinary porridge oats), together with 50g of sunflower seeds.  This was the remainder of the packet I used for the bread I made the other day.  These were quickly mixed together with my hand.

A small saucepan was then retrieved from the cupboard, carefully in order not to knock everything else out of the cupboard – my job tomorrow is to reorganise my kitchen and kitchen cupboards they’re becoming very cluttered!  Into the saucepan went 50g of butter together with two rounded tablespoons of golden syrup.  ‘Rounded tablespoons’ now what exactly does that mean?  My rounded tablespoons once filled with golden syrup appear to be rounded with golden syrup both on the top and on the bottom of the measuring spoon – so in all honesty I reckon I probably put four tablespoons of syrup in.

The saucepan was placed on the hob and very gently the butter melted into the syrup.  Whilst this was happening I greased and lined the bottom of a shallow 18cm (7″) square cake tin.

Once melted and mixed together the syrupy mixture was poured over the oats and stirred in until the oats were coated.  The mixture was tipped into the pan and levelled out.  I then pressed it down with a palette knife and it was popped into the oven for 25 minutes.  That was it, easy!

After 20 minutes I had a look, it was a lovely golden brown and quite firm to touch, so I decided it was ready.  It was taken out of the oven and immediately cut into 16 squares.  I must admit at first I thought 16 was a few too many, but seeing this recipe is in the “Baking For Children’s” section of the book I realised why.  

Once cooled the tin was turned out onto a wire tray.  It was quite crumbly, but I did manage to get 16 squares in the end, although I don’t think there were any two the same size!

It tasted very similar to flapjack, but had the sweetness of the sunflower seeds too.  I liked it, but I’m not sure about the children, they weren’t too keen on the sunflower seeds.

 

Leave a Reply

