Recipe 109 – Lemon Drizzle Traybake

21st September 2012

Where has the week gone.  I had every intention to bake in the middle of the week, but I seem to have been rushing about here and there, but not actually getting much done!

I havemanaged to bake some Nutella Cupcakes from the Primrose Bakery book this week – being National Cupcake Week, I couldn’t resist, but deep down I know I’ve got to get back to Mary Berry and stop getting side-tracked.

For the past few weeks I keep reading articles about Lemon Drizzle Cake and I must admit it is one of my favourites and I really wanted to bake one, but I had already made the cake in the book.  However, flicking through the Bible to see what I could bake, I came across the Lemon Drizzle Traybake – yes, I thought, this would satisfy my desire for a lemon drizzle cake.

As it was a Friday afternoon my daughter and her friend both finish school at lunchtime, so they had been to the local Chinese takeaway for some egg fried rice for their lunch (don’t ask why!), so they were having fun chatting and eating their lunch (together with a glass of champagne each as this was the first time they had managed to get together to celebrate their exam results), so I thought I’d take myself off to the kitchen to get out of their way and bake.

A quick check through the recipe to make sure I had all the ingredients needed and it was time to bake.

The oven was put on to preheat and a traybake tin was lightly greased and the base lined with parchment.

This was another all in one recipe from Mary, to into the bowl went the butter (softened in the microwave as I had yet again forgotten to take it out of the fridge), caster sugar, self-raising flour, baking powder, 4 eggs, 4tbsp milk and the finely grated rind of 2 lemons.  Why,I ask myself do I always choose the wrong side of the grater for my lemon rind?  After starting on one side, the rind seemed to be collecting on he ‘grating’ side of the grater, so I changed to another side, however, most of the rind seemed to be stuck to the grater, so it was a case of finding another pastry brush (I’d used one for greasing the traybake) to brush the rind out of the little sharp teeth of the grater.  This seemed to take longer than measuring the rest of the ingredients out.

Once this had been done it was a case of whisking the mixture up with my hand mixer for a couple of minutes until well blended.  The mixture was then spooned into the the traybake and levelled over.  The lemony smell was gorgeous and I must admit I couldn’t resist tasting some of the batter!

Into the oven it went for 35 minutes.  After this time it wasn’t quite done, so it was popped back into the oven for another five minutes, after which it was a lovely golden colour and springy when  pressed in the centre.  The cake had to be left in the tin for a few minutes and then turned out, the parchment peeled off and left to finish cooling on a wire tray.

Before it was completely cool, however, you had to put the crunchy topping on.  Into a bowl went the juice from the two lemons together with a hefty amount of sugar!  I was surprised to see that the mixture had to be poured over the top of the cake when it was out of the tin.  I know from the lemon drizzle cakes I have made in the past I always pour the mixture over the top of the cake whilst it is in the tin, so that all the ‘syrup’ is absorbed.  However, this time the cake was to remain on the wire tray with a plate put underneath to catch the drips.  Instead of pouring the mixture over, I very carefully spooned it over in order to prevent too much running off.  The mixture that did run off I quickly scooped back up and put it on top of the cake again.

Once set, Mary says to cut the cake into 30 pieces – I managed 28 and I must admit they looked quite tiny.  However, once I had tasted one, I realised why they were so small, they were delicious, but the crunchy topping was very, very sweet.

I love lemon drizzle cake, so knew I would like these.  My children aren’t too keen on it – they don’t really like the lemon flavour, but my husband loves them and even had three pieces for his breakfast this morning!!

I know I don’t have to say it, as I know it will be one that will be baked again if not this way then in the traditional cake way!

My apologies about the photo, it’s a bit dark – it was quite late in the evening when I sliced the traybake up and there was no natural light to take the photo in!




2 thoughts on “Recipe 109 – Lemon Drizzle Traybake

  1. I absolutely love Mary Berry's lemon drizzle traybake, I've made it a few times. My eldest nephew is very keen on it too.I can sympathise with the grating issue. Surely there must be a a more efficient method than stabbing the grater with a pastry brush?!

  2. Pingback: Wheat Free Lemon Drizzle Traybake | Riverside Baking

Leave a Reply

