Recipe 105 – Coffee and Banana Vacherin

2nd August 2012

I had forgotten all about this recipe. It was only when I was flicking through the photos on my phone that I saw the photo and remembered.

It all came about because I’d made courgette carbonara for tea the evening before and I needed 4 egg yolks for it.  Knowing that I still had lots of recipes to bake from the Souffles and Meringues Section of The Bible, I  had saved the egg whites.

I must have been mad baking this two days before we went on holiday, but hoped that it wouldn’t last long and would have all been eaten before we went away – I hate throwing food away.

The oven was put on to preheat at a low temperature and two baking trays were lined with parchment.  These then had to be marked each with a 20cm (8″) circle.  The easiest way to do this was to get out one of my sandwich tins and draw round the bottom.

The 4 egg whites were then put into a large bowl and whisked until they were stiff.  The sugar used for these meringues was light muscovado to give the meringue a caramel flavour.   This as usual had to be added a teaspoon at a time, whisking well between each addition.  I think I must be getting used to this now, as my arms didn’t ache as much as normal!

Once this had been completed the mixture was spooned into a large piping bag which had been fitted with a 1cm plain nozzle.  The mixture then had to be piped in a circle.  First you had to find the centre of the circle and then pipe in a spiral pattern until you reach the outside of the circle you had drawn on the paper.  I had a few breaks in the pattern as I must have had a bit of air in the bag, but it didn’t look too bad!

These were then popped into the oven for 1- 1 1/4 hours.  After this time the meringues were crisp and dry and had coloured very slightly.  The oven was turned off and the meringues were left in there to cool.  I was a bit worried at this stage as I had left the oven door slightly open and I had to pop out to get some shopping – would the meringues still be in the oven or would the dog have had them by the time I got back.  Luckily on my return they were still intact and still in the oven!

It was then on with the filling.  Into a bowl went the double cream which was whipped until it held its shape.  To this was added 1 tsp of dissolved coffee granules.  A banana was sliced and folded into the cream – I could have spooned this into a bowl and eaten it as it was – there was no need for any meringue!  The creamy banana was spread over the top of one of the meringues and the other circle was placed on top.

The remaining cream was then whipped together and this was piped over the top.  Mary says to dust the meringue first  with icing sugar and then pipe rosettes over the top.  I piped the rosettes and then dusted!

Taste wise my husband loved it.  I thought it was to ‘caramelly’ the first day, but the second day the flavours seemed to have mellowed and the meringue had become more chewy. It was good and I think it will be one I will make again!

Better go and have another look through my photos to make sure I haven’t missed any other recipes out now…

 

Leave a Reply

