Recipe 99 – Hazelnut Meringue Cake

24th July 2012


I can’t believe it, I’m actually typing this blog up on the day I made the recipe!  This doesn’t happen often and I know I should, but it’s finding the time sometimes to sit down and type it up.  As it’s way too hot outside (I’m not complaining, honest, we’ve waited too long for this glorious weather to appear), I thought I would quickly type up today’s recipe.


Having taken the dog out for a lovely walk this morning with lots of swimming involved and chasing of rabbits and pigeons  – the dog not me (it was nearly cut short as he appeared to be limping to start with – he tried to jump out of the canal yesterday at a place where even a Great Dane wouldn’t have managed to jump out and I think he may have bruised or strained a muscle), I had planned on having a BBQ this evening so thought a pudding would be in order.  It definitely had to be something cold.


Having picked another huge bowl full of raspberries yesterday evening from the allotment, I really needed a recipe that would use some of them up.  It was a choice between this one and the American Cheesecake.  This one won as the other recipe needed to chill in the fridge for 24 hours before you could decorate/eat it and I needed something for this evening.


Once the children had finally got out of bed (oh to be a teenager again) I could begin.  What a kind mother they have, I didn’t want to wake them with the electric whisk, hehe!  A quick check to make sure I had all the ingredients – white wine vinegar was required.  There it was at the back of the cupboard – I was all ready to go.


The oven was put on and two 20cm (8″) sandwich tins were lightly oiled (not greased).  The bottoms of the tin then had to be lined with parchment.  It didn’t say whether or not to oil these, so I did very lightly!


Whole hazelnuts were meant to be used in this recipe and roasted for 10 minutes and then rubbed together to remove the skin.  I didn’t have any whole ones, but I had lots of chopped ones in my cupboard (3 packets actually!), so I missed this step out and went straight on to grinding them in the food processor.  The smell of the hazelnut oil that was being released from the nuts was gorgeous – my kitchen began to smell of Ferreror Rocher chocolates, yum.  These were put to one side.


The next step was to separate 4 eggs, I can’t believe I actually managed to do this without getting any shell in the whites.  It must be one of those rare occasions when they crack perfectly and you are able to tip them from one half of the shell to the other without the yolk or a piece of shell breaking off and escaping.  These were quickly whisked until they were standing to attention.


The worst bit of making a meringue was next – the addition of the sugar – one teaspoon at a time with a good whisk of the mixture in between each spoonful.  This is one time when I wish I had a worktop mixer and not the hand mixer, as my arms were certainly aching by the end, even though I kept swapping hands.  However eventually all the sugar had been used and the meringue mixture looked lovely and glossy.


Into this went the white wine vinegar and a couple of drops of vanilla extract.  These were whisked in and then last of all the ground hazelnuts were lightly folded in.


It was then a case of dividing the mixture into two tins.  Just as I started my phone rang.  It was my husband a quick “I’ll call you back in a minute, I’m in the middle of putting the meringues in the oven” seemed to suffice and back I went to the mixture.  Once divided the mixture was levelled out and both tins put into the oven.


After 30 minutes I had a look at them they had a lovely crispy top, so out they came.  Mary says to leave them in for no longer than 40 minutes.  The first meringue turned out very easily, once I had run a knife around the edge, the second one, however, had other ideas but eventually gave in and came out.  However the top had crushed rather a lot in the process.  Never mind, that one could go on the bottom!  These were then left to cool.


Once cooled and after an expensive clothes shopping trip in the meantime with my son, it was on with the filling.  The cream was whipped up (I had to whip it slightly more than I wanted too as it was so warm, it kept melting) and two-thirds of it was spread over the top of one of the meringues.  On top of this went two-thirds of the raspberries.  The remaining meringue was then put on top and the rest of the cream and raspberries went on top of this.  Last of all a sprinkling of icing sugar went over the raspberries.


It did look good, even if I say so myself.  However, it now had to go into the fridge as Mary says to fill it 3 hours before serving so it will cut into portions without splintering.


After our evening meal and another long walk with the dog we finally got round to having a slice of meringue.  Taste wise it was crunchy on the top and gooey in the middle, just as Mary said it would be.  Yum!


Oh and I did remember to call my husband back for those of you who may have been wondering!





3 thoughts on “Recipe 99 – Hazelnut Meringue Cake

  1. Pingback: J is for Japonaise | Self Raising Flower

Leave a Reply

