Recipe 95 – Almond & Chocolate Chip Cake

4th July 2012


With the Victoria Sandwich in the oven baking, I decided to make another cake as the children had gone elsewhere after school and I was home alone.


A quick flick through the recipe book and I decided upon this cake – mainly because it had chocolate chips in it!!


Luckily it wasn’t my 18cm (7″) deep cake tin that had been ruined by the leaking pipes, so this was lightly greased and the bottom lined with parchment.  The oven was already on and luckily the temperature was the same as for the Victoria Sponge, although the sponge would be out of the oven before this cake went in!!


A quick look through my boxes of ingredients to find the ground almonds.  I was a few grams short on what was required, but thought this should hopefully be OK.  I used to have bags and bags of ground almonds, but I have obviously been sensible and refrained from buying any and now have run out completely.  That isn’t something I can now say about ‘flaked almonds’. I have three bags of those – all open.  I was slightly short of plain chocolate chips too, so made the amount up with milk chocolate chips – I’m sure nobody will notice!  The rest of the ingredients I had.


Into the bowl went the butter, self raising flour (no baking powder used in this recipe which was a surprise as Mary always seems to use it – I assume it was because the cake took quite a while to bake), caster sugar, 3 eggs, the ground almonds and the chocolate chips.  My electric mixer blades had been washed and dried and it was put to good use again.  Initially I was rather concerned as the mixture seemed rather stiff, but once it had all mixed together it was lovely and creamy.


This was spooned into the tin and levelled over the top.  It was then popped into the oven and the Victoria Sponge was taken out.  The timer was set for an hour.  It was only after 20 minutes that I realised I hadn’t sprinkled the flake almonds over the top of the cake.  Oh well, it was too late now and I know my son wouldn’t eat the cake if it had almonds on top, so perhaps it was a blessing in disguise.


The cake took 10 minutes longer than the hour.  It was left in the tin for 10 minutes and then removed from the tin and left to cool.


My daughter decided she was going to have a slice of cake for her pudding.  The cake was actually still slightly warm.  She said it was delicious.  My son soon as a slice too and he wouldn’t believe me when I told him that one of the ingredients in the cake were ground almonds.  They both loved it and I must admit when I finally got round to trying it, it was delicious.  I know I say it over and over again, but this is another one of my ‘bake again’ cakes.  The list is forever getting longer.




Leave a Reply

