Recipe 92 – Coffee & Walnut Traybake

28th June 2012


The football is nearly over, so after a long walk with the dog this evening  (I gave our lunchtime walk a miss, it was too hot for him) I decided I needed to bake, and I had also been told the cake tins were empty!!


My son wanted me to bake a chocolate cake, but the only ones left for me to do in the book are quite lengthy recipes and I didn’t want to be up half the night finishing them off.


A traybake looked appealing, I know everyone likes coffee cake in the family, so thought this one would be a good choice.


As usual, the oven was put on to preheat and my traybake tin lightly greased and the bottom lined.


I was pleased to see this was one of Mary’s all in one recipes, just what I needed, something quick and easy.


My large mixing bowl was taken down and into this went the softened butter (yes, I had to put it in the microwave for a few seconds), light muscovado sugar, self raising flour, baking powder, 4 eggs, 2 tbsp milk and 2 tbsp of coffee essence.  I was quite pleased as at last I was able to open my bottle of Camp Coffee Extract.  I had been told from a fellow blogger about this recently and although I can remember my mum using it when I was little, I wasn’t aware that it was still available.  Luckily it is readily available in most major supermarkets so I purchased some a few weeks ago and since then it has been sat in my cupboard.  As soon as it was added to the bowl, it brought bake memories of baking with my mum and grandma.


I should have added walnuts at this time, but a quick look through my ‘box of nuts’ revealed that I didn’t have any.  I had rather a lot of chopped hazelnuts though, but I didn’t think these would really go.  Oh well, I wasn’t too disappointed as walnuts are not that popular in this family, so they wouldn’t be missed.


It was then a case of blitzing it all together with the electric whisk which didn’t take long at all.  The mixture was then turned into the tin and levelled.  The smell of coffee was very strong and it was much darker than my usual coffee cake when I have used coffee essence.  The mixture, however, tasted wonderful – I can never resist trying a bit of the cake mixture!


It was then into the oven for 35 minutes.  After 10 minutes the whole house was filled with the smell of the cake, lovely – although my son did question why he could smell coffee and not chocolate! Whoops, forgot to tell him it was coffee cake!


After 35 minutes the cake was beginning to shrink back from the sides, so it was time to take it out.  It had to be left to cool in the tin.  I had intended on icing the cake later that evening, but I must admit I got rather caught up watching the tennis.  Nadal was playing in the 2nd round and although he’s a great player, I do like seeing the top seeds beaten.  So by the time the match finished, I thought it a bit late to start icing the cake.  We also had a visit from my daughter’s friend around 10 o’clock.  She is Italian and had been watching the football and was so pleased that they had got through to the final, she thought she would share it with us.  It was a lovely visit and great to see her so happy!  The icing of the cake would have to wait until tomorrow.


I’m glad I did wait to ice the cake this morning, as it gave me a chance to nip out and get some walnuts for the top.  I thought the cake would be a bit bare without any.


It was therefore time to cover the kitchen with a fine dusting of icing sugar …  Into the bowl went the softened butter, the icing sugar, a couple of teaspoons of my Camp Coffee (my daughter thinks this name very amusing!) and a couple of teaspoons of milk.  This was mixed together with my whisk and spread over the top.  To finish it off a few walnuts were put on top.  Not many as I know my children will want to have their piece (or pieces) without the walnuts!


Tastewise – delicious, yet another one for the ‘bake again list’.






3 thoughts on “Recipe 92 – Coffee & Walnut Traybake

Leave a Reply

