Recipe 82 – Carrot Cake

8th June 2012


Whilst waiting for the doughnut dough to prove and the flapjacks to come out of the oven, I decided on another bake, the well loved Carrot Cake.


Reading through the recipe I was surprised to see two bananas included.  I don’t think I’ve ever put bananas in a carrot cake before and there also seemed to be rather a small amount of carrots.  This would be interesting to see how it tasted!


The oven was already on, so it was on with greasing a 20cm deep round cake tin and lining the base.


Another all in one recipe from Mary, so out with a mixing bowl and into this went the self raising flour, baking powder and light muscovado sugar.  Mary includes walnuts in her recipe, but both my children had requested that I leave these out – I must admit we’re not a fan of walnuts in this house, so I skipped these.  The next ingredient to add were the carrots.  I was surprised that only 100g of carrots were needed.  The carrots were peeled and finely grated – I’m never sure whether to coarsely grate the carrots or finely grate them, I wish the recipe said – I finely grated mine, with the dog by my side, just in case some missed the bowl  (one of this favourites and only one of two human foods he has occasionally – cheese and carrot).  He soon disappeared when he realised none of it was coming his way!  The carrots were added and two mashed bananas were also added to the mixture.  Finally two large eggs went in along with 150ml sunflower oil.


Sunflower oil – I had earlier sent my son up the shop for sunflower oil on a promise that I would make him some flapjack if he got it.  Off he went and kindly bought the oil for me – when I opened the door upon his return he said “I don’t ever remember putting sunflower oil in flapjacks (yep he has cooked them himself before), I hope they’ll be OK” –  whoops had to own up an say it was for another recipe, but being a good mum I still made the flapjacks and also found I already had a bottle of sunflower oil in the cupboard too – there was no need for his the trip to the shop after all!


Well, that was it all the ingredients were in the bowl.  I had got the electric mixer out, but looking at the ingredients I realised this would be quite an easy job for the wooden spoon!  So after a quick beating the mixture was nicely blended and smooth.  So it was a case of pouring it (yep it was that runny) into the tin.  Mary says to level the surface, but there was no need in this case.


Into the oven it went for 50 minutes.  About 20 minutes into the baking of the cake my son wandered into the kitchen with a smile on his face, he thought I was baking banana bread (one of his favourites) as I must admit you could smell the banana cooking – I told him it was carrot cake, which is another one of his favourites, so together with the flapjack he was a happy boy!  After 50 minutes I felt the cake wasn’t quite cooked so it was left in the oven for another 10 minutes.


The cake was removed and after a few minutes turned out of the tin and left to cool on a wire rack.


Just before our evening meal I decided to make the topping for the cake, so into a bowl went the full fat soft cheese (and you do need full fat for this recipe – a friend of mine made it with half fat soft cheese and she ended up with a landslide as the icing all slid off to leave a huge moat around her cake!)  To this I added some softened butter, icing sugar and a few drops of vanilla extract.  This was mixed together until smooth and was then put to one side as my evening meal was ready.


By now my daughter had spotted the cake and asked when it was going to be finished as she would like some for her pudding – cakes don’t last long in this house once she’s spotted them.  So it was a quick job of spreading the icing over the top of the cake.  As I hadn’t used walnuts in the cake I didn’t really want to decorate the top of the cake with them, so it was out with some red and yellow icing which I kneaded together to make orange and it was a case of making little carrots – my daughter helped too, I think so that she could have a slice a few minutes quicker than if I did it myself.


Personally as I type this I haven’t actually had any of the cake and there’s not much left, so I’d better be quick, but the overall opinion from the rest of the family is that it is a lovely moist cake, but it is does taste of bananas, not the usual carrot cake flavour.  If I make it again and I probably will, I think I will double the amount of carrots used and probably only put one banana in it.  If I do, I will update this blog with the outcome!


Leave a Reply

