Recipe 65 – Ginger and Treacle Spiced Traybake

28th April 2012


‘Weekly Bake Off’ chose this cake for us all to bake this week, so as I hadn’t baked it before, it was another one to be ticked off the list.


Having had a lazy Saturday morning and then a very wet walk with the dog – he loved it, I certainly didn’t it was extremely muddy and although I slipped a few times, I didn’t fall over, but my husband did – whoops!  It’s normally me who slips over in the mud, but luckily he was OK, just his pride a bit bruised I think!


I wasn’t a huge fan of the ‘Gingerbread Traybake’ that I made earlier on, so I was a bit concerned about this recipe, although I noticed that there wasn’t as much black treacle used.


The oven was put on to preheat and my traybake tin was lightly greased and the bottom lined.


My cupboards are becoming fuller and fuller with all the cake ingredients I have been buying lately, so to save time, I put all the ingredients I needed onto the worktop.


This was another all in one recipe from Mary, so starting from the top the softened butter was weighed into the bowl and on top of this went the light muscovado sugar.  Next it was the dreaded black treacle.  Black treacle, where did I put it, I obviously didn’t take it out of the cupboard.  Nearly everything was removed from the cupboard but there was no black treacle anywhere – there was plenty of golden syrup.  On no, what could I do, was there another recipe I could make with the same quantity of butter and muscovado sugar in it?  A quick flick through ‘The Bible’ and the answer appeared to be no.  The corner shop was shut, so it was a case of a quick visit to the local supermarket for some treacle.


The traffic was bad and it took me about 30 minutes to finally get back in the kitchen.  The treacle was poured on top of the sugar.  I love pouring treacle very finely so it almost appears to eat the sugar as it lands on it – my daughter liked this as well – she had appeared as I was baking, a brief break from her revision for her AS Spanish oral exam on Monday (today now!), but wasn’t impressed when she found out it was another ginger cake!


On top of the black treacle went the self-raising flour, baking powder, mixed spice, allspice, 4 eggs, 4 tbsp milk and finally three bulbs of stem ginger (which had been finely chopped).  This was then all beaten together with my hand whisk.  I must admit it did struggle a bit at first, the bowl was almost full to the top with the amount of ingredients that had to go in, but eventually it became lovely and smooth.


The mixture was turned into the traybake and levelled.  Into the oven it went for 40 minutes.  After this time it was beginning to shrink away from the sides and was springy on the top.  It was left to cool for a few minutes and then turned out onto a wire rack to cool.


Once cooled it was onto the icing.  Into a bowl went 75g of sieved icing sugar.  To this I added 3 tbsp of the syrup from the stem ginger.  The icing was spooned onto the cake and spread over with a palette knife.  There didn’t seem to be enough icing, it was very thin, unlike the icing in Mary’s book which seems lovely and thick – I’m sure some photos in books show recipes that are slightly adapted as my traybake was the correct size (I measured it) and the quantity of icing sugar/syrup was correct.  Oh well, nothing I could do.  All that was left was to sprinkle on the top some more finely chopped stem ginger.  Mary did say another three bulbs, but I thought it slightly excessive and only chopped two.  


All in all, I knew I would be disappointed by this recipe, it was as I feared very treacly.  I will keep it a few days and have another taste then as I know the last one improved through keeping – it became more like the Jamaican Ginger Cake you can buy in the shops – so hopefully the same will happen to this one.  There are a few more ‘ginger cake’ recipes in Mary’s book, I must admit I’m not looking forward to baking them – I need to find somebody who loves them!!




Leave a Reply

