Recipe 56 – Cornish Fairings

3rd April 2012


With the hot cross buns disappearing fast, even though I said I was going to freeze some for Good Friday, hints had been made for biscuits.


I did think about Millionaire’s Shortbread, but only had one tin of condensed milk and had no intention of going shopping until Wednesday, so a quick flick through the biscuit section and  I decided upon Cornish Fairings.


The oven was put on to preheat and two baking trays were lightly greased.  


Into a bowl went the plain flour, mixed spice, ground ginger and cinnamon together with some bicarbonate of soda.  This was given a quick mix with my fingers and then I added the butter and rubbed it in.  Next the sugar was added and mixed in.


Golden syrup was the next thing to be added.  It’s a nightmare weighing out syrup.  I should use the squeezy bottles, but a friend of mine who is a florist gave me a lovely idea a while ago, she used the empty syrup tins to display cut flowers in or, alternatively plants herbs in them and sits them on her windowsill.  I am already getting a good collection of these and intend to put them to good use soon.  I have to hide them from the husband though or they’ll get put in the recycling!!


Anyway, the syrup was measured out into a small bowl and gently heated in the microwave until it was pourable.  This was poured and stirred into the mixture until it came together to form a soft dough.


Mary says this recipe makes 24 biscuits and to roll the mixture into balls roughly the size of a cherry.  Gosh, these didn’t look very big when you put them on the baking tray.  I must admit I think I had cherries of different sizes by the end.  As I realised I only needed six more, they turned more into walnuts!


Into the oven they went for 10 minutes.  After this time you had to take them out and bang the trays carefully on a solid surface to make the biscuits crack and spread.  This was amazing, you took the biscuits out of the oven and they were dome shaped,  a quick tap on the worktop – or on a chopping board in my case, they went ‘splat’ and were completely flat!  They didn’t literally go splat!


Back into the oven they went again for a further five minutes.  By this time they were golden brown.  They were left to cool on a wire rack.


These were a great success in this house.  By the next morning there were only three biscuits left and my husband couldn’t believe they had all gone by the time he came home from work, although I’m pretty sure he ate his fair share the evening before!


Here they are decorated with a piece of fancy ribbon pinched from my daughter’s bedroom whilst she was out.  I did put it back before she came home!!




3 thoughts on “Recipe 56 – Cornish Fairings

Leave a Reply

