Recipe 54 – Crunchy Top Lemon Cake

30th March 2012


With the Cappuccino Cake in the oven baking, I decided to make another cake, so a few pages on I found the Crunchy Top Lemon Cake.  Mary seems to have quite a few lemon cakes in her book, not that I’m complaining as I do like the flavour of lemons in cakes, although my daughter doesn’t feel the same – oh well she’ll have to eat the Cappuccino Cake instead – more for me!!


The oven was already on and luckily this cake had to be baked at the same temperature and looking at the time left I reckoned this cake would be ready to put in just as the two sponges had to be taken out.


It was another all in one recipe, so into the bowl went some butter, caster sugar, self raising flour, baking powder, milk, a couple of eggs (whoops it said beaten eggs and, as usual I had just cracked them straight into the bowl – hopefully this wouldn’t matter) and lastly the finely grated rind of a lemon.  Yep, you’ve guessed as soon as the grater came out of the cupboard there at my feet was the dog – only to be disappointed that it was lemon (which makes him sneeze) and not cheese, so he soon wandered off again.


Had to have a quick look at the Cappuccino Cakes as the timer was going off.  Not quite ready, so it was set for another five minutes


Once all the ingredients had been added Mary says to beat the mixture for two minutes until well blended.  Looking at my timer for the Cappuccino Cake I saw that they needed 3 more minutes so I used this as a guide for my two minutes of beating.  One minutes to go until the cakes came out of the oven so the mixture was turned into the tin and the top smoothed.


What perfect timing, I couldn’t have planned it if I had tried – the timer was going off again and the sponge cakes looked perfectly cooked, so they were removed from the oven and the lemon cake popped in.


35 minutes later I had a look at the cake but it was still soft on top, so I left it for another 5 minutes.  Again, I still wasn’t happy that it was cooked so it had another 5 minutes after which time the top was nice and springy to the touch.


Whist the cake had been finishing off I mixed together some granulated sugar and the juice of one lemon.  This was to be the topping for the cake.  With the cake removed from the oven, the lemon paste had to be spread over the top immediately.  I was a bit worried as it all seemed to be running off the top and settling at the edge of the tin.  However, after a couple of minutes the lemon had soaked into the cake and left the sugar on top.  It looked lovely.


It was a case now of leaving the cake to cool in the oven and then turning it out.  Whilst the others all opted for the Cappuccino Cake for their pudding, I had a slice of this cake and it didn’t disappoint, the cake itself was very light and lemony and the crunchy top was just gorgeous.  This one’s for me, I’m not sharing!






Leave a Reply

