Recipe 48 – Chocolate Victoria Sandwich

18th March 2012


I wasn’t planning on baking anything this evening, but at about 8.30pm I received a phone call from my mum to tell me that my brother would be in the area tomorrow as he had some clients to see.  You are probably thinking well, why bake – well it would be his birthday, so as I wasn’t expecting to see him (and hadn’t got him a present as yet), I thought it would be nice to bake him a birthday cake for him and his family to enjoy.


A quick look through the ‘Bible’ and I came across the Chocolate Victoria Sandwich.  This brought back memories of when he was at university.  Whenever he came home I would always make sure there was a Chocolate Victoria Sandwich ready for his arrival,  together with a huge cheese sandwich and  whenever he went back to uni, there was always one for him to take with him.   They became so popular that he usually ended up taking 2-3 back with him as his friends also asked if I could make them one too.


So, oven on and two 20cm deep sandwich tins were greased and the bases lined.  I had just enough greaseproof paper to line the cases with.


The cocoa was mixed with some boiling water and put to one side to cool slightly.


This was one of Mary’s all in one cakes, so into the bowl went the flour, sugar, softened butter, eggs and baking powder.    Mary actually says to measure all the remaining ingredients into a bowl and beat thoroughly.  She doesn’t actually say at any time to put the dissolved cocoa in.  However, I soon realised this (the cake didn’t look very chocolatey!) and added the cocoa to the mixture as well.


The mixture was spooned equally between the two tins and levelled out with a palette knife.  Both tins then went into the oven for 25 minutes.  After this time they were well risen and were starting to shrink away from the sides, so I took them out of the oven and after a few minutes turned them out of the tins, peeled the paper off the bottom and left them to cool on a wire rack.


The buttercream filling would have to wait until tomorrow as I had work in the morning, so it was off to bed for me, after I had done the washing up, of course!


Once the children had left for school in the morning I quickly made the buttercream filling from butter, icing sugar and milk.  I thought I was being clever doing this before I went to work, but as we all know icing sugar has a mind of its own and I was covered along with the kitchen worktop.  I hadn’t put an apron on either – oh well change of top before going to work!


Buttercream was made so half was put into the middle of the cake and the other half spread over the top.  On top of this I grated some milk chocolate for decoration.  Then it was a quick change and off to work.


I’m not sure how the cake tasted, I’m sure my brother will let me know, as it was a fleeting visit from him this afternoon.  It was good to see him and we had time for a quick catch up before he went on his way again!

 

Leave a Reply

