Recipe 46 – Raspberry Meringue Roulade

11th March 2012


The sun was shining, it was a glorious Sunday so today I felt like baking something to go with the weather.


Looking through the Bible, I decided it would be nice to make a summery dessert today and having a glut of eggs at the moment from the chickens, meringue seemed a good option.


I have never made a roulade using meringue before.  I have made the usual chocolate roulades etc, but this was a first for me.  I must admit the rolling up of the meringue did seem rather daunting.


The oven was on and the Swiss roll tin was lined.


5 large egg whites were needed, so very carefully in order not to get any yolks into the whites they were separated.  It always amazes me how a little egg white can be whisked together to make an enormous amount of mixture.


So the egg whites were whisked until very stiff.  It was then time to add the sugar.  275g of caster sugar had to go into the mixture and had to be added a teaspoon at a time.  Now 1tsp is equivalent to 5g, so that means I would have to add 55 tsps to the egg whites and thoroughly beat the mixture between each addition.  I was going to be here for a long time.  I must admit I did do heaped teaspoons, so it was slightly quicker, but boy did my arm ache.  I kept having to change hands, change the side the bowl of sugar was on and mix and mix and mix.  I so need a Kitchenaid or other mixer!!  Eventually all the sugar had been added and the meringue mixture mixed until it was very, very stiff.


I spooned the mixture out onto the tin and spread it evenly over the base of the tin.  Over the top of the meringue I then sprinkled 50g of flaked almonds.   It was popped into the top of the  oven for 8 minutes after which time it was a pale golden colour on top.  The oven temperature was then reduced and it was baked for a further 15 minutes.


At this point it was removed from the oven and had to be turned out, almond side down onto a sheet of baking parchment.  It was now I realised that I hadn’t actually lined the tin, but had lined the bottom of the tin only!  After some persuasion I managed to get the meringue out of the tin and luckily only one corner had slightly broken.


I thought you would have to leave the meringue to cool completely before filling it, but I was wrong, you only had to leave it for 10 minutes.  So I quickly whipped the cream until it stood in stiff peaks and into the this folded very gently the raspberries.


The buzzer went off, 10 minutes were up so it was time to add the filling.  The cream and raspberries were spread as evenly as possible over the mixture and then it was time to roll.  For some reason I was convinced you would be rolling from one of the short sides to make a big but short roulade.  However, on reading through the instructions you had to roll from the long side.  So the roulade was rolled up and I must admit it was easier than I thought, except for the end bit, where I wanted it to roll over just a little bit more to get the last edge on the bottom of the roulade.  


It was then wrapped in baking parchment and and put in the fridge to cool.  I couldn’t wait to eat this.  Once unwrapped I was impressed it looked gorgeous, although quite a few of the flaked almonds did fall off.  It must have been good, we all loved it and my son even had an extra slice later in the evening.


The way the raspberries had bled into the cream was stunning – another one I will be baking again!




Leave a Reply

