Recipe 44 – Anzac Biscuits

5th March 2012


Tea was cooking away in the oven and with time on my hands I thought I would have time to bake some biscuits.  A quick look through the Bible and I decided on Anzac biscuits.  These are biscuits I have seen and bought before from the shops, so I thought it would be interesting to see whether or not they were similar.


Second oven on and two baking trays lightly greased.


Only six ingredients in these biscuits and it all takes place in one saucepan.  Lovely, not very much washing up – I can just add it to the pile that will come after tea, so nobody will notice one extra!!


Into the pan went the butter, golden syrup and sugar and fhey were heated gently until the butter had melted and the sugar dissolved. Next I weighed out some flour, dessicated coconut and porridge oats and added these to the saucepan.  These were mixed in until evenly blended.


It was then I noticed that this should make 45 biscuits and you were to spread large teaspoonfuls out onto the baking trays, spaced well apart.  There was no way that 45 biscuits were going to fit on two baking trays – these were going to have to be done in batches.  I managed to get 10 biscuits on each tray and once on, the spoonfuls were flattened slightly with the back of a spoon.  


Into the oven they went for approximately 10 minutes.  After 8 minutes I kept a close eye on them as Mary says they should come out when they are lightly browned at the edges.  Once out of the oven they had to cool for a good 5 minutes before you could remove them from the trays. I did try to remove one sooner, but they were very soft and needed to crisp up a bit.  Finally I could lift them off the trays with a palette knife and put them on the wire rack to cool.  


Now for the next batch.  By now the mixture in the saucepan had started to cool, so it was harder to get spoonfuls out.  It was easier I found to take little handfuls out and shape them into small balls and flatten them out on the trays.  I managed to put 10 again on each tray, but only had a small amount of mixture left, so made another two biscuits and squeezed them on one of the trays.  Into the oven again for 8 minutes.  This time they were ready and possible slightly over done compared to the first batch.


Anyway perfect timing as the buzzer went off to say that tea was ready.  Once tea had been eaten it was nice to sit down with a lovely cuppa and a couple of Anzac biscuits.  I must admit I was impressed they were lovely and certainly tasted as good as, if not better than the ones you buy in the shop.  A definite one to be added to the favourites to be made again!

 

Leave a Reply

