Recipe 40 – Pineapple & Cherry Loaf

1st March 2012


I always seem to have difficulty in choosing what to bake next from ‘The Bible’, but this week I have found on Twitter @Weekly Bake Off – the concept of this is to bake one recipe from Mary Berry’s 100 Cakes and Bakes each week.  Looking through this book and her Bible, a lot of the recipes are duplicated, so I decided to bake the recipe suggested this week if it’s also in The Bible.  To my surprise it was. I checked to make sure it was the same recipe and decided to give it a go.  The idea is for everyone to bake this recipe and forward a photo of the finished product.  This will then be judged on Monday morning.  So, once a week I will be baking a recipe to enter into this little online competition.


Ingredients purchased the day before so come Thursday afternoon it was time to bake my entry.


Oven on and a 2lb loaf tin lightly greased and the bottom lined.  I keep meaning to measure my loaf tin as I think it is slightly bigger than 2lb, but I may be mistaken.


The first thing was to quarter the cherries and rinse and dry them off.  There were an awful lot of cherries in this cake and it seemed to take an age to quarter them all.  At the end I had a nice sticky pile of cherries.  Into the sieve they went and were rinsed off.  Such a waste of that lovely sticky syrup.  I must admit I did eat a few that were left over! 


Then it was onto the pineapple.  A small tin of pineapple was required for this recipe.  I remembered to save a couple of tbsp of the juice to add to the cake later.  The pineapple had to be roughly chopped.  I wasn’t sure how roughly to chop this as I obviously wanted to be able to taste the pineapple in the loaf, but I also wanted to be able to see it when you cut through the loaf, so I left it slightly chunky, but not too chunky, if that makes sense.  Again the pineapple had to be dried off the same as the cherries.  I’m not sure whether anybody else has thought this, but how do you dry pineapple off, it’s full of juice.  I patted it dry, but when I put it in a bowl to one side you could see the juice starting to seep out of it again.


The preparation of the cherries and pineapple were probably the longest part of this cake, the rest seemed to whizz by.


Into a bowl I placed the butter (nicely softened as I took it out of the fridge first thing in the morning), the muscavado sugar, a couple of beaten eggs and the flour.  These were mixed together with my hand whisk for a couple of minutes until well blended.    Into the mixture I folded the sultanas, cherries, pineapple and the reserved pineapple juice.  That was it, the loaf was ready to be turned into the tin.


After levelling the loaf off it was placed into the oven for 1 1/4 hours.  The kitchen smelt heavenly while the loaf was baking, which I was surprised about as there wasn’t any spice added to this cake.  It must have been the muscavado sugar.  After 1 1/4 hours, I checked the cake, but it wasn’t quite baked, so I left it in for another 10 minutes and checked again.  This time it was ready so it was taken out of the oven and left to cool for a few minutes in the tin, before turning it out and leaving it to cool on a wire rack.


Once cooled and cut into the cake was very moist as Mary said it would be.  She did say that the cake should be stored in an airtight container in the fridge, but the cake wasn’t around long enough for that.  It was only the next day that I remembered that I needed to take a photo of the cake to send in to the Weekly Bake Off.  Imagine my surprise when I opened the tin to find only a quarter of the loaf left.  My son certainly enjoyed this cake and every time he went into the kitchen, I think he came out with a slice.


Anyway my entry was submitted and I am waiting the result.  I must admit on looking at the entries this must be a popular cake as there are quite a few and they all look very appetising.


A definite hit in the house and one I’m sure that I will be asked to bake again.  It was fun baking this for entry into a competition and I look forward to the next recipe.  It certainly helps me with my decision on what to bake!



 

Leave a Reply

