Recipe 28 – Chocolate Chip American Muffins

28th January 2012


These large muffins look quite impressive – Mary’s words!!


Last time I made some muffins from Mary’s Bible, I was disappointed as they didn’t rise very much, so I have my fingers crossed that these would!


First things first, oven on and 12 muffin cases put into the muffin tin.


Sieved the flour and baking powder (to incorporate more air) into the bowl and added the butter.  Rubbed this into the mixture until it resembled breadcrumbs.  Next to stir in the sugar and chocolate chips.


Chocolate chips – I did have enough the other day, but that’s the problem with having 2 children in the house who love chocolate chips.  Measured them out and I was short by 50g.  What was I to do, didn’t fancy going in to town to get some (yes, I know I should have checked before I started), so instead I added 50g of white chocolate.  Note to myself – hide the chocolate chips next time!!


Put the bowl to one side and in another bowl mixed together 2 eggs, the vanilla extract and milk.  Poured this in in one go and mixed it gently but quickly into the dry ingredients.  Mary says the mixture should have a lumpy consistency – not sure exactly what is meant by this as I assume all the flour needs to be mixed in property.  Anyway it looked lumpy, but in my opinion only because of all the chocolate chips in the mixture.


Spooned the mixture into the cases.  Mary says to fill them almost to the top, I think perhaps I should have used ordinary cup cake cases and the mixture definitely didn’t fill them to the top.  Oh well, into the oven they went for 20 minutes.


After 20 minutes opened the oven door – yes they had risen, but no not as much as I had expected.  Left them in the tin for a few minutes and then removed them to finish cooling on a wire rack.


The overall verdict – again disappointed in how little they had risen compared with my expectations.  Flavour – absolutely lovely – they certainly didn’t last long – I think my daughter ate most of them!!

 

Leave a Reply

