Recipe 27 – Yorkshire Gingernuts

23rd January 201


Ginger, I can take it or leave it, but after a request from my husband to buy some Ginger Liquorice from Lakeland, the next time I was in there shopping (which is quite often, I must say), I have taken a fancy to it.  Luckily there are quite a few recipes that include ginger in the ‘Bible’.


So today, I felt we needed some biscuits, something a bit lighter after the brownies I made at the end of last week.  I still can’t get over how much butter was needed for them!!


Very quick this recipe is, according to Mary.


Oven on, 3 baking trays greased.


First measure the butter and golden syrup (a generous tablespoon – 1 1/2 tbsp then I reckon) in a pan and heat gently until the butter has melted.  At least I remembered the butter this time and didn’t leave it on the worktop!


All the dry ingredients, self raising flour, demerara sugar, light muscovado sugar, 1 level tablespoon ginger and 1 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda (had to search the cupboard for this, I knew there was some in there somewhere – there it was at the back hiding with the ‘Five Spice’.  Mixed these together then added the melted butter/syrup and one beaten egg.


Mary said it would form a ‘dough’.  Mine seemed very crumbly even when I got my hands in.  


This all took about 5 minutes (once everything had been measured out of course).  It was a quick recipe.  However, the next bit said form the dough into 50 balls about the size of a walnut.    Now, I’m not sure about you but the size of a walnut, is it a big walnut or a little one.  By the time I had finished making little balls, I had big walnuts and little walnuts on my trays.  Think I need to buy some sort of tiny scoop (like the one my mum used to have for making butter rounds with), that way all my biscuits would be even in size.


Mary did say to place the dough well apart on the trays, so I assumed that they would spread out.


Popped them into the oven and set the timer for 15 minutes, just enough time for me to wash everything up in.  Off went the timer, but I felt the biscuits weren’t quite ready, they needed to be a bit more golden, so back in for another 2 minutes.


Out of the oven and onto a wire rack to cool.  The biscuits hadn’t actually spread out that much, but they looked very pretty.  Couldn’t resist trying one before they were cool, they were scrummy.  Whilst warm they were crunchy on the outside and quite soft in the middle, but once cooled they were crunchy – definitely something to be ‘dunked’ in your cup of tea.




Leave a Reply

