Recipe 21 – Sugared Pretzels

8th January 2012

 
After a morning of cleaning and ironing, I needed to do some baking, but didn’t have much time!
 
This looked quick and easy!
 
Flour and butter measured out into the mixing bowl and rubbed in.  Sugar added and stirred through.  One beaten egg and a few drops of vanilla extract added and we were there!!
 
Mixed all together and it was rather a sticky dough.  Turned the dough out onto a floured board and kneaded until it was smooth.  Although smooth, it still felt too soft.  However, Mary said to wrap the dough up and put it in the fridge for at least 30 minutes, so that’s what I did.
 
Actually it was in for slightly longer as I took the dog for a walk and then the children came home from school.  
 
So, about an hour later I rolled the mixture out into a sausage shape.  Halved it.  Divided each half into three so I had six small pieces, which I then divided again by three to make eighteen pieces.  They were tiny, but must have been the right size – the size of a walnut!
 
Rolled each piece into a long sausage and then formed them into a loose knot (like a normal pretzel).  I must admit each biscuit looked tiny and if I make them again, I think I will not divide the mixture up so much and probably make about 12 pretzels.
 
Anyway into the oven went the 18 pretzels (oven preheated, of course!!) for 8 minutes.
 
I slid them off the baking tray as I thought they looked very delicate and would break quite easily.  Sprinkled icing sugar over them and that was it, they were done.
 
They must have been good as Emily ate nearly half of them in one go!!  They were tiny, so didn’t think they’d last long.  Emily said she would make them again, but I’m not sure if I would.  If I did they would definitely be bigger!


Overall, I wasn’t very happy with these.  They tasted lovely, but didn’t look that good. 
 

 

 
One thought on “Recipe 21 – Sugared Pretzels

Leave a Reply

