Recipe 15 – Very Best Chocolate Fudge Cake

With a birthday tomorrow, I asked Emily what cake I should cook for myself (or for her!), after a quick look through the book, she said she (or I) would really like the Chocolate Fudge Cake.

Oven on (160°C), two 20cm sandwich tins greased, ready to start.
 
First off was to sieve 50g cocoa powder and blend with 6tbsp boiling  water.  I couldn’t believe how much cocoa powder I had to use – 50g which is approx 6 tablespoons.  Again, forgot to take the butter (100g)out of the fridge, so into the microwave it went for 20 seconds.
 
The remaining ingredients 3 large eggs, 50ml milk, 175g self raising flour, 1 rounded tsp baking powder and 275g caster sugar were added and mixed together.  Something’s missing to this mixture I thought, and then remembered the butter was still in the microwave.  Added the butter and mixed again – hoped at this stage that it wasn’t too late and the cake wouldn’t be a flop!
 
Phone call in the middle made me multi-task – chat to my mum and spoon and level the mixture into the tins.  Phone call over, cakes into the oven for 25 minutes.  Left to cool in the tin for a few minutes and then removed and cooled on the cooling rack.

 

 
I warmed 3 tablespoons of apricot jam in the microwave and  brushed it over the top of one of the cakes and the base of the other.  I had a lot of jam left over, even though I had put quick a thick layer onto the cakes.  Next time will remember 1 heaped tablespoon will probably be enough.
 
Now to the icing.  Into a dish went 150g plain chocolate and 150ml double cream, which I warmed gently over a pan of simmering water until the chocolate had melted.  Removed from the heat, another stir to make sure all the chocolate had melted and then it said to leave to cool until nearly at setting point.
 
I think my kitchen must have been very warm as this took for ever.  I had lunch and even managed to walk the dog (he’s only 5 months old so can only go for 25 minutes).  Anyway on our return the chocolate was at the correct consistency.
 
I spread about a1/3 of the mixture on the base (which will be the middle) of one of the cakes, put the top on and spread the remaining mixture onto the top of the cake. 
 
This cake certainly looks very rich and I’m sure a small slice will suffice…

 

Leave a Reply

