Recipe 11 – English Cherry Cake

If there’s one thing that I like it is a cherry cake.  I must admit I usually put desiccated coconut in with mine, but not this time.

I  thought I would try my new bottle of ‘Cake Release’.  I have seen this in shops for a while but must admit I was very sceptic about it.  I did still line the base of the baking tin, just in case it didn’t turn out!!

The longest part of this recipe was the quartering of the 200g cherries and the washing and drying of them to remove all the syrup.  An essential part as we don’t want the cherries to sink to the bottom of the cake!

Again, it was a simple task of putting all ingredients (except the cherries) into the bowl (275g self raising flour, 75g ground almonds, 2 level tsp baking powder, 225g butter, 225g caster sugar and 4 eggs) and mixing them all together for about a minute.  Yet again, my daughter’s hand mixer came into good use!!  Think she may start charging me soon!!  All I had to do then was fold the cherries in, turn the mixture into the tin and level the top.

The cake took quite a long time to cook – 1 3/4 hours.  I checked it after 1 1/2 hours, but it wasn’t quite ready.  After taking it out the oven, you have to leave it for 10 minutes before removing the tin and parchment from the bottom.

Another lovely recipe from Mary and another one that disappeared very quickly.  There was one strange slice, however, it had no cherries in it – how on earth did that happen!!

 

2 thoughts on “Recipe 11 – English Cherry Cake

  1. Your Cake looks so much better than the one I made this this week. I took great pains with its preparation. I even ground all the almonds myself so they would be fresh.
    I thought I had washed and dried the quartered cherries sufficiently before folding them in to the mix. I even held some back to lay on the top when the batter mix was finally levelled in the tin.
    All to no avail I’m afraid. All the cherries sunk and went to the side of the tin. How that happened I have no idea. For them all to sink and cover the base of the cake I would understand and except; but to all go to the edge is a mystery.
    I does taste good though. I just brake away the cherry rim at the base, and eat a little of it with each fork full of the plain almond cake that remains on my plate. 🙂
    I will try harder next time.
    Any tips for me for the future? I notice your cherries are evenly distributed in your photograph.

    • Hi, I think it’s more down to luck. I’ve tried not washing the cherries too, sometimes they sink other times they’re ok. You could try tossing the cherries in a bit of the flour before mixing in which may help. As to all the cherries going to one side, that is very strange! I must admit cherry cake is one of my favourites, especially if it has coconut in it too! Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

