Recipes 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9

I have decided to write a blog on all of these recipes at once as I cooked them a while ago, before I had really decided to do a blog!


Recipe 2 – Crown Loaf


All I can remember was it was around 5 o’clock in the evening when I realised we didn’t have any bread for the morning and it was a school day.


I thought this would be a good recipe as it could be broken up into individual rolls.


Equally dividing the mixture into 12 pieces in itself was a challenge.  You can see from the photo of the final loaf that all the rolls were of different sizes, but I was pleased with the outcome and it tasted so nice.

 



Recipe 3 – Cheese Straws


I must admit I’m not a fan of cheese straws and the last time I made them was probably when I was at secondary school!


Rubbed the butter into the flour and stirred in the cheddar …. added the egg yolk and brought it altogether to form a dough.  Let the dough rest in the fridge for half an hour, so took the dog for a walk!


Rolled the dough out and cut it into strips.  Some I twisted, others I left as they were.  Grated some Parmesan over the top and put them in the oven.


Thankfully Paul likes cheese straws so he was keen to eat them.  Don’t think Em and Joe liked them too much though, but it’s another recipe ticked off!





Recipe 4 & 5 – Fairy Cakes and Iced Fairy Cakes


Today was Joe’s birthday, so I made him some brownies as that is what he wanted and then because I knew my niece and nephew would be coming round, I thought I would make the fairy cakes.  I love making little cakes, so this was a good way of doing two recipes in one go.


Thank goodness for Emily’s hand whisk and for the fact that Mary uses the ‘all in one’ mix for her fairy cakes.  Everything in the bowl and whisked for 2-3 minutes until nice and smooth.


I made some cupcakes and some tiny cakes too.  In to the oven, 15-20 minutes for the larger cakes and 10 for the tiny ones.


Mixed together the icing sugar and water to make the icing for the little cakes.  Good old ‘dolly mixture’ for the top.  As they were only ‘baby’ cakes, there was lots of ‘dolly mixture’ left over, yum.


Packed the little cakes into a box for my niece and nephew to take home.  The cakes went very quickly, so obviously were good!



Recipe 6 – Butterfly Cakes


Same recipe as above, but this time they were to be made into butterflies.  I love these little cakes it always reminds me of parties when the children were tiny.  They look so delicate and pretty with the icing sugar sprinkled on top and tasted gorgeous.





Recipe 7 – Focaccia Bread with Onion and Balsamic Topping


Earlier in the day I had made some butternut squash and peanut butter soup so decided to make some bread to go with it.


The decision here was do I make/mix it straight on the worktop or in a bowl.  Went for the latter as I know I can be quite messy at times in the kitchen and didn’t think that flour and a black labrador puppy would go together very well!


So everything went into the bowl, in went my hands to start mixing.  This was quite a sticky dough so needed quite a lot of flour on the board to stop it sticking.  After kneading for five minutes or so it was beginning to look smooth and my arms were beginning to ache.


Placed the dough in an oiled bowl, covered with cling film and left it for an hour.  It had more than doubled in size!


Whilst waiting for the dough to rise, I prepared the topping.  Two large onions were finely sliced and gently fried in a pan for 20 minutes.  Added some balsamic vinegar and sugar and fried until golden brown.  Added some thyme and seasoning and set aside to cool.


Knocked the dough back and rolled it out to fit a baking tray approx 48cm x 28.  Gently spread the onion mixture over and left it to prove in a bag for 30 minutes.


Into the oven it went, the smell of fresh baking bread is scrummy.  Couldn’t wait to try it with the soup.





Recipe 8 – Melting Moments


Another one which I don’t think I have made since I left school.  I can remember my mum and I think my grandma making these.


Another quick and easy recipe from Mary,  all the ingredients put in a bowl and mixed together to make a dough.  Then it was a case of dividing the mixture into about 36 portions.  Roll each one into a ball and then roll in the oats.  Place on the baking tray, flatten slightly and put 1/4 of a cherry in the middle.


Bake for about 20 minutes.  These didn’t last very long at all in our house!



Recipe 9 – Blueberry Muffins


One of Emily’s favourites!


I enjoy making muffins, they are something you can mix together quickly when you haven’t much time to spare.


Rubbed the butter into the flour and baking powder and stirred in the sugar, blueberries and lemon rind.  


In a separate bowl I mixed together the eggs and milk and poured them into the dry mixture.  I mixed this quickly and spooned it into the muffin cases.  


This, I think is one recipe that I was disappointed with.  Normally when I make muffins they rise over the top of the cases, but these struggled to make it to the top of the case.  The mixture, I felt was too thick.  This is one that I probably will not do again and will go back to my tried and tested old recipe!






2 thoughts on “Recipes 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9

  1. In the famous words of all the villains on Scooby Doo:Drat you pesky Blogger. Now I've had to go and buy the Mary Berry Bible on Amazon. No, joking aside 🙂 The photos of your baking looks so nice, I felt that the book might we worth while investing in.

  2. Hi and welcome! Thanks for your lovely comments. Definitely go out and buy the book, I can honestly say most of the recipes I have baked so far I have enjoyed eating!! There are quite a few gingerbread recipes however in it, which I keep putting off baking as they're not my favourites. You won't be disappointed if you do buy it. Thanks again for your comments xx

Leave a Reply

