Recipe 188 – Rich Cheesy Biscuits

Yet again we’d run out of good old Jacobs Cream Crackers for the cheese.  I think my son must be the only person who quite happily munches his way through half a dozen or so of these, completely on their own.  I’m sure they’d just dry my mouth out!

I’d bought an extra ‘block’ of cheese this week from the supermarket as I had every intention of baking these, so as it hadn’t been eaten, I thought I would quickly get on with the recipe.

The oven was put on to preheat at 180°C and 3 baking trays were lightly greased.

The first thing I did was to weigh out the cheese (175g) and grate this into a bowl, so it would be ready when required, instead of my normal rush in trying to find the grater (hidden somewhere amongst my many, many baking pans and trays!  With this grated, it was put to one side.

Into another bowl went 175g of sieved plain flour and to this I added 3/4 tsp salt and 3/4 tsp dry mustard powder.  This was given a quick stir through to mix it all together.  The next item to go in was 75g butter which was rubbed in with my fingertips until the mixture resembled fine breadcrumbs.  It was now time to stir in the grated cheese.  Two eggs were beaten together in a separate bowl and just enough egg mixture was added to the cheese mixture for it to come together to form a soft dough.  I think I added just over one egg in all, so I had quite a lot left over, but this was to be kept to glaze the biscuits with before they went into the oven.  The dough was wrapped in clingfilm and left to chill in the fridge for approximately 15 minutes.

After 15 minutes the dough was rolled out until it was approximately 5mm (1/4″) thick.  Mary suggests cutting it into rounds using a 5cm (2″) round cutter or into triangles.  As the dough should only be re-rolled once, I decided to cut the biscuits into triangles.  By doing this I was avoiding too much of the dough being left over.  The dough was rolled out once more and more triangles were made.  In total I made 34 triangles.

The biscuits were transferred onto the baking trays and were brushed over with the remaining beaten egg.  To finish them off I sprinkled the top of some of them with poppy seeds and the rest with sesame seeds.

Into the oven they went for 15 minutes, after 5 minutes the kitchen filled with the lovely smell of melted cheese.  They were a lovely golden brown and quite crisp when they came out of the oven.  Having so much fat from the cheese in them they easily came off the baking trays and were left on a wire rack to cool.

They were indeed very rich and cheesy.  The mustard powder in them gave a little kick as you were eating them.  They soon disappeared, they were very scrumptious indeed.   A tip from Mary – if you bake them ahead of the time, heat them up in the oven just before serving.  I must admit they did taste nicer warmer, although they were very good cold too!

Rich Cheese Biscuits

Leave a Reply

